eRacing Championships
Roe and Jones make it two apiece in Motherwell

Roe and Jones make it two apiece in Motherwell

Home » Road racing

Eileen Roe (WNT Team) made it two wins from two, as she sprinted to victory in Motherwell on Monday night, in the seventh round of the Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series.

Brenton Jones propelled JLT Condor back into the lead of The Tour Series with his second victory of the series, out-sprinting Team Raleigh GAC's Enrique Sanz in Motherwell to help his squad to the win.

Brenton Jones wins round 8 of the Tour Series in Motherwell

JLT Condor have now a one-point lead over Madison Genesis, as the battle for the top spot rages on between the two sides.

The lead for Drops in the women's Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series remains much larger, despite the efforts of WNT Team duo Eileen Roe and Katie Archibald to reign them back. 

Both riders had featured strongly throughout the race, but it was Roe who eventually escaped as a part of a four-rider group who looked set to contest the finish.

Never one to be left behind however, Archibald then turned on the burners and bridged across a 30-second gap with series leader, Drops’ Rebecca Durrell for company, to set up a seven-rider sprint for the finish.

Despite the round win for Team WNT, Drops are now edging closer to their first Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series title with a commanding lead the top of the standings, while Storey Racing's Ejay Harris needs just one-point to secure the Eisberg Sprints Jersey in the remaining three rounds.

The Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series reaches Motherwell

In the men's event, a fast paced round saw constant attacking and aggressive riding as JLT Condor and Madison Genesis each sought the upper hand. 

Eventually it came down to a mass 28-rider sprint, with both teams equally represented but JLT Condor came out on top as Jones, Graham Briggs and Ed Clancy all finished in the top five.

Finishing a highly commendable sixth was Tom Pidcock, making his Tour Series debut for the PH Mas – Paul Milnes – Oldfield guest team, while Spaniard Sebastian Mora retained the Wiggle Points Jersey.

Jones' last lap effort earned him the Brother Fastest Lap award, while in the women's race Katie Archibald took the honours.

Round eight will see the Tour Series head to Aberdeen on Thursday 25 May.

Membership discount for club members