Home » Road racing

Britain’s best riders and teams have been confirmed for the 2015 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships, which takes place in Barnsley later this month.

The championships, which take place on the evening of Wednesday 29 July, will be fiercely contested by the country’s top male and female cyclists, all looking to emulate the famous riders who have previously won the title, including former road world champion Mark Cavendish and Olympic medallists Ed Clancy, Lizzie Armitstead, Joanna Rowsell and Dani King.

In the men’s race, Barnsley-born Olympic champion Clancy (JLT Condor) will be attempting to reclaim the title he first won in 2010. With 2014 champion Adam Blythe absent, a new champion is guaranteed in the men’s event but Clancy will face tough opposition from a strong field of Britain’s top domestic riders which includes current British Cycling Elite Circuit Series leader Jon Mould (One Pro Cycling), 2011 champion Graham Briggs (JLT Condor) and in-form riders Sam Lowe (Team Raleigh GAC), David McGowan (Pedal Heaven) and Chris Latham (Team Wiggins).

2015 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships course map

In the women’s event, Eileen Roe (Wiggle Honda) will defend the title she won in Hull last year. She will face competition from last year’s silver and bronze medallists, teammate Amy Roberts and Team WNT’s Charline Joiner, as well as the winner of the 2015 British Cycling Women’s Road Series Nicola Juniper (Team Giordana-Triton) and recently crowned national under-23 champion Alice Barnes.

The riders will contest a clockwise 1.1-kilometre town centre circuit which starts and finishes opposite Barnsley Town Hall on Church Street. The women’s race gets underway at 6:30pm, followed by the men’s race at 8:00pm. Both races will be 50 minutes long, followed by five laps of the circuit.

Rider entry lists


Membership discount for club members