The ‘Places to Ride’ programme

The ‘Places to Ride’ programme

Navigation:
Home » About us » Who we are » What we do » Facilities

In September 2019, for the first time since 1982, the world’s best cyclists will come to Yorkshire for the UCI Road World Championships. This major international event will include a range of men’s and women’s races, across age groups and will include for the first-time, para-cycling. Yorkshire is aiming to deliver the most inclusive, innovative and inspiring Road World Championships in the history of the UCI.

Different towns and cities throughout Yorkshire will see the event live in their local communities. Across England, we hope to deliver a lasting legacy.

The Places to Ride programme will fund the development of new or the improvement of existing cycling facilities in communities across England.

The programme has been made possible through a new £15million commitment from Government and will be delivered over the next three years through a partnership of British Cycling, Sport England and the Department for Culture Media and Sport (DCMS).

Places to Ride partners and funders

Key Facts

Fund: Places to Ride Programme

What we want to achieve:  

  • Encourage more people from a range of different backgrounds regardless of gender, age, ability or ethnicity to engage with cycling in all its forms. We want to provide more opportunities for people to enjoy riding in an accessible and inclusive environment; focusing especially on provision that responds to the needs of women and girls and people with a disability.
  • Invest in opportunities that connect local communities and address barriers to engaging with cycling. Recognise the wider benefits of riding a bike to enable societal benefits such as community cohesion, reducing social isolation and promoting health and well-being through prevention.
  • Ensure we deliver a lasting legacy of active environments that provide high quality and affordable opportunities to engage with cycling now, that will continue to be deliverable in the future.

Who do we want to work with: Any organisation that is developing cycling activity in their community.

Award types: small-medium scale facility improvements or equipment through to large-scale new build facilities across all types of cycling.

Investment: £15million

Timeframe: Applications can be submitted at any time and decisions will be made every 12 weeks.  

Opening Date: 29 November 2018

Closing Date: 15 January 2021 (closes to new applications)

Organisations are encouraged to discuss their ideas in advance of submission with their relevant Cycling Delivery Manager, who can help to refine your ideas and provide feedback on lessons learnt from othe projects. The list below provides regional contact details:

South - Ruth Miller - ruthmiller@britishcycling.org.uk / 07940 302 177

South East - Luke Anderson - lukeanderson@britishcycling.org.uk / 07843 549 106

South West - Chris Brown - chrisbrown@britishcycling.org.uk / 07949 810 639

East - Lauren Forrow - laurenforrow@britishcycling.org.uk / 07860 404 831

Central - Colin Walker - colinwalker@britishcycling.org.uk / 07793 844 653

West Midlands - Amy Gardner - amygardner@britishcycling.org.uk / 07940 738 319

East Midlands - Steve Johnson - stevejohnson@britishcycling.org.uk / 07879 426 064

North West - Rob Pickering - robpickering@britishcycling.org.uk / 07384 214 078

Yorkshire - Anthony Gill - anthonygill@britishcycling.org.uk / 07940 738 365

North East - Hilary Conway - hilaryconway@britishcycling.org.uk / 07834 518 152

For further information regarding the programme, please see the ‘Places to Ride’ programme prospectus.

Download Application Form

*please note the PDF version of the application form is for reference only, applications should still be made via the online application process.

Download prospectus

Small grants advice and support

Apply to the fund