British Cycling's Hall of Fame Inductees Named

Home » News

Bookmark and Share  BC on Facebook Follow British Cycling on Facebook BC on Twitter Follow British Cycling on Twitter

50 Cycling Heroes Named in British Cycling's Hall of Fame

Posted: 17 December 2009

British Cycling has revealed the names of 50 cycling heroes who have been selected for induction into its new Hall of Fame as part of the organisation's 50 anniversary celebrations.

British Cycling received over 300 nominations for the Hall of Fame, ranging from riders, coaches, team managers, sport administrators and volunteers through to public figures instrumental in progressing the sport.

A Hall of Fame selection panel, consisting of cycling journalists and British Cycling representatives, met in late November. They began by deciding unanimously to focus on past cycling achievements rather than contemporary cycling successes and to make the first Hall of Fame a tribute to the past five decades.

Victoria Pendleton MBE, panel member, explained: "We made a conscious decision not to select elite riders who are still competing at an international level or coaches and managers at the top of their game. We also agreed we should recognise administrators and volunteers who have been active in the sport over many years and have made a significant contribution to it during that time. There have also been several posthumous awards."

British Cycling's President, Brian Cookson OBE, who chaired the panel, said: "The response we've had from the public to the Hall of Fame has been phenomenal and choosing just 50 individuals out of over a hundred nominees proved very challenging. With such a fantastic number of nominations this year we have decided to make the Hall of Fame an annual event to enable us to recognise more recent and current cycling successes."

The 50 cycling heroes will be officially inducted into the British Cycling Hall of Fame when the organisation concludes its 50th year anniversary celebrations with its Gala Dinner, which will be held at Manchester Central on 20 February 2010.

The 50 cycling heroes to be inducted into the 2009 British Cycling Hall of Fame are as follows, arranged alphabetically:

The British Cycling Hall of Fame

Pat Adams
Caroline Alexander
Brian Annable
David Baker
Sid Barras
Stuart Benstead
Chris Boardman MBE
Bill Bradley
Beryl Burton OBE
Keith Butler
Arthur Campbell MBE
Brian Cossavella
Doug Dailey MBE
Tony Doyle MBE
Ian Emmerson OBE
Malcolm Elliott
Benny Foster OBE
Tim Gould
Eileen Gray CBE
Dave Hemsley
Barry Hoban
Dale Holmes
Mandy Jones
Peter Keen OBE
Peter King CBE
Stan Kite
Phil Liggett MBE
Craig MacLean
Paul Manning MBE
John & Doreen Mallinson
Yvonne McGregor MBE
Gerry McDaid
Jason McRoy
Chas Messenger
George Miller
Robert Millar
Graeme Obree
Hugh Porter MBE
Jason Queally MBE
John Rawnsley
Brian Robinson
Alan Rushton
Tom Simpson
Eddie Soens
Colin Sturgess
Dot Tilbury MBE
Graham Webb
Les West
Sean Yates
Tony Yorke OBE

Why not read our specially commissioned  Graham Webb Interview written to mark this important announcement?

The 2009 British Cycling Hall of Fame panel:

British Cycling's President Brian Cookson OBE
The Guardian's Cycling Correspondent William Fotheringham
Cycling Weekly's Editor Robert Garbutt (Link - Robert's blog)
British Cycling's Executive Director Peter King CBE
Olympic and World Champion Victoria Pendleton MBE
Cycling Commentator and former world champion, Hugh Porter MBE