2019 Welsh Cyclo cross league: Rain and mud galore at Spencer Eca for round four

2019 Welsh Cyclo cross league: Rain and mud galore at Spencer Eca for round four

Home » News

Following on from the theme of round three, the conditions for round four were equally as wet and difficult. However, the yellow weather warnings which loomed over West Wales did not scare contestants away as they turned out at the brand-new venue of Spencer Eca, Llandysul, to deliver another tremendous day of racing.  

Riders gave it their all on the day, battling hard on the technical and testing course which was made all the more difficult by the driving rain. However, the riders embraced the mud in true cyclo cross style and raced hard for the podium positions and the all-important league points. It was a very successful day for many, with some even continuing their winning streak.

Once again, the under-6’s kicked off proceedings as they were the first to take to the course out of the multiple age category races that ensued throughout the morning. Daisy Duffield (Whitchurch CC) continued her winning ways and secured the win ahead of Tarynn Perry and Bethan Morgan (Whitchurch CC). For the Under-6 boys, Macsen Harris (Abergavenny Road Club) makes it four from four with another superb win.

More cyclo cross action continued with the under-8’s race in which Cadi Emerson (Whitchurch CC) made it a clean sweep so far and secured her fourth win of the series ahead of Ffion Davies (The Bulls) and Manon Lewis (Ystwyth CC). Freddie Roberts (Hfren CC) matched last week’s performance and clinched the win in a close boy’s race, with Isaac McAdie (Gower Riders) and Ben Turner (Hafren CC) also taking to the podium.

Next up to brave the weather were the under-10’s, and Cameron Reeves (Abergavenny Road Club) once again secured the win to make it four wins from four – pipping Toby Risdon (Abergavenny Road Club) and Osian Tilke (Cardiff JIF) to the post. For the girls, there was a clean sweep for the Gower Riders as the top three podium positions were secured by their riders. Lara Elias finished out in front ahead of Katie Evans and Isobel Davies.

To bring the kids races to a conclusion, the under-12s took to the course and many talented performances were displayed. Aelwen Davies (Towy Riders) delivered a strong performance to cross the finish line first, closely followed by Mabli Phillips (Maindy Flyers Youth CC) and Kitty Walton (Gower Riders). Over with the boys, Finn Davies (A Cycling) improved on last week’s bronze performance to clinch the win, with Ruben Brandon-Higgs (Hafren CC) in second and Meuryn Rees (The Bulls) in third.

It was then the turn of the Youth riders to battle it out on the course. Cardiff JIF also had a clean sweep on the podium for the under-14 girl’s race, as Anwen Nesham rode hard through the muddy course to secure a three-minute lead on Jessica Hoskins and Evelyn Nurse. After an epic battle, in the under-14’s boys race, it was Alfie Davies (A Cycling) who clinched a narrow victory ahead of Finlay Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing Team), followed by Sam Fisher (Maindy Flyers Youth CC) in third.

For the under-16 girls, Awen Roberts (Towy Riders) delivered a very strong ride to comfortably take the honours, finishing nine-minutes ahead of fellow club-member Bethany Bennett (Towy Riders) who placed second and Lowri Richards (West Wales Cycle Racing Team) in third. Griff Lewis (Ystwyth CC) once again took the win for the Under-16 boys after another strong performance, with Ioanhedd Oldfield (Marsh Tracks Racing) and Jack Hastings (Cardiff JIF) also taking to the podium.

As the course became ever muddier for the women’s race, the competitors produced many gutsy performances as they battled it out for podium positions and produced very quick lap times. Both Clare Hoskins in the Vet50 Women’s race and Ruby Carleton (Maindy Flyers CC) in the Junior Women once again retained their winning titles after taking the honours in their categories. Joanne Rees (The Bulls) was also, once again, first to cross the finish line for the Vet40 Women with a three-minute lead. In the Senior Women’s Category, Ruby Miller (Hope Factory Racing) powered her way to her second win of the series. Not only did she secure a top podium position, but she was also the fastest woman overall, after delivering a very strong ride.

The day drew to a conclusion with the Men’s race, and what a race it was. With just under an hour of racing, the Men embraced the mud and tackled the difficult course. Competitors battled hard around the course resulting in positions being very close across the board. Steven James (Hope Factory Racing) took the honours in the Senior Men Category, with a two-minute advantage – he was also the fastest man overall. William Truelove (Abergavenny Road Club) was first to cross the finish line after racing hard and comfortably taking the win with a four-minute advantage in the Junior Men’s Race. More success was had in the Vet Men’s Category as Lynn Lines (Gateway Racing), secured the win in the Vet60 Category with a one-minute advantage. In the Vet50 Category, Grant Johnson took the honours in a very close race and so too did Jason Killiner (Pontypool RCC) in the Vet40 category.

As the series takes a short break next weekend, overall league table positions so far after round four can be accessed. With standards being high across the board, from the under-6 category, right through to the Vet60 Men’s Category, placings and points are extremely close. With competition being so high, this will make for a fantastic second half of our Welsh Cyclo cross League as riders battle it out to secure further league points.

Welsh Cyclo cross league, round four results








Overall League table results can be found here

If you took part in this round we would love your feedback, complete the survey here before Wednesday 2nd October


Watch the team live