Midweek MTB Madness Round 4

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)

Midweek MTB Madness Round 4 | 12 July 2012

Round 4 stayed dry to provide the spectators and riders a very fast and action packed event, with the biggest turn out of riders so far this series, course was modified due to the poor weather a couple of days before but didn’t stop the organisers providing a fast course.

Right from the gun all the riders set off at a fast pace with Giles Drake and Dan wells leading the charge with Adrian Lawrence and Sean Beswick following behind, as the leaders came through to start the Third lap gaps were appearing but battles were forming, Roy Hunt, Jason Tonge and Graham price were only covered by a few seconds each trying to drop one another.

Further down the field Rebecca Preece was steadily making her way up the field, meanwhile the race for the lead was hotting up between Giles Drake and Dan Wells, they had sizeable lead over Adrian Lawrence so was left up to the two leaders to duke it out for the win.

Coming in to the final lap Drake had the upper hand over Wells all he had to do was keep the few second gap he had managed to eek out to ensure the victory was his, sure enough on the home straight he had it in the bag, followed closely behind him was Wells. Battles were going on through out the field on the final lap as Simon Vasquez tried to out sprint John Moore.

As Well as the Regulars to the series there were a few new riders to the event John Proud took part in his first ever race, the look of suffering was on all the riders faces, even the season veterans like Roy Hunt looked worse for wear, but everyone had a enjoyable time in the sun and will look forward to the next round.


1 Giles Drake Team-Elite/Paul Bethell Electrical
2 Daniel Wells
3 Adrian Lawrence Team Bglobal
4 Sean Beswick www.zepnat.com RT/Kuota/GSG
5 Jack Humphreys WHEELBASE.co.uk/MGD
6 Chris Lever
7 Anthony Morris
8 Dave Powell
9 Pete Middleton www.zepnat.com RT/Kuota/GSG
10 Benjamin Pygott Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC
11 Roy Hunt Colnago - Microshift - Skins
12 Jason Tonge Lancashire RC
13 Graham Price
14 Joseph Heywood
15 Mark McPhillips Stockport Clarion CC
16 David Headon Horwich CC - 4 Season Cycles
17 Mark Ferguson
18 James Tudor
19 John Moore
20 Simon Vasquez
21 Mick Style Manchester Whlrs Club
22 Curtis Mansbridge
23 David Kent St Helens CRC/D.Sparrow Plumbing & Heating Services
24 Ally Wight
25 Steven Wood
26 Rebecca Preece Red Rose Olympic CC
27 Philip Taylor Lune RCC
28 Paul Kelsall
29 Matt Mountford Club Goldtec
30 Darren O'Toole Glossop Kinder Velo
31 Andy King
32 stephen hopper Richardsons Cycle Club - Scarborough
33 Nicholas Budworth
34 Desmond Thorpe Oldham Ruffyeds
35 Charles Beech Chorlton Velo
36 Richard Gaskill
37 Michael Briggs Chorlton Velo
38 Richard Lilly
40 Mark Spittlehouse
41 Graham Hill
42 Maggie McPhillips
43 David Eastham
44 Duncan Astle
45 Colin Humphreys Red Rose Olympic CC
46 Jools Chesters
47 Ewan Wentworth
48 Simon Lay
49 Robert Allen Leisure Lakes Bikes.com
50 Gus French
52 Colin Yeo
53 Chaz Haley
54 Stuart Baines
55 D Davies
56 Ralph Thiede
57 Glyn Hopkins
58 John Proud
59 Mark McAffee
60 Richard Firth
61 Graham Barker
62 Ben Oldham
64 Mark Hamilton Chorlton Velo
65 eff Robinson
66 Craig Blain
67 Antony Cameron
68 Caroline Humphreys Red Rose Olympic CC