MTB: Manchester Madness

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)
Bookmark    and Share 
Follow on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Sunshine greets Madness riders

Manchester Midweek MTB Madness No 3 | Manchester Midweek MTB Madness Series
Event: 30th June 2011
Event Details
| Results

New venue, flat course, glorious sunshine. A world away from the last round at Boggart Hole Clough, Chorlton Water Park was the venue for a hot and dusty event with almost 60 riders entering. In contract to the previous round there was very little climbing which would make for a fast race.

The usual protagonists were in attendance and some new faces given the bigger field. With lap times that were slightly quicker than expected , which led to a shorter race than the last round, the riders were on top of their game from the off.

After a lap a group of four had formed, Roy Hunt, Ady Lawrence, Tom Albutt and Pete Wilbraham. John Gildea was just behind on a cross bike and rode an impressive race, with a group of three just behind him consisting of Luke Beswick, John Mackellar and Jason Tonge , with the field strung out behind.

Ady Lawrence opened up a small gap after lap two that was to grow by 30 seconds a lap thereafter. Behind the battle for second raged with Hunt and Albutt swapping positions for the next three laps. Pete Wilbraham was slightly behind and Gildea had now slipped to seventh after a blistering opening pace, just behind Tonge and Mackellar.

Lots of little groups were starting to form with a group of six battling at around twentieth place. In the battle for the first woman, Jo Holden had pulled away from Lisa Foster and would go on to be the first woman home.

Back at the front, Lawrence had a commanding lead and Albutt had secured second place after a mechanical with a lap to go dropped Roy Hunt to fourth, with Wilbraham sneaking in front for third.

The battle to round out the top five was won by Tonge who pipped Mackellar in a sprint for the line. Overall, a fast, dusty affair with a course that contained a little bit of everything. Thanks to all that helped and thanks to the riders for what was a magnificent turnout. Normal service resumes in two weeks with the next round at Clayton Vale.


1. Adrian Lawrence Teambglobal
2. Tom Albutt Joyriders MTB Holidays
3. Pete Wilbraham
4. Roy Hunt
5. Jason Tonge
6. John Mackeller North West MTB Centre
7. Luke Beswick Buxton CC
8. Graham Bryce GMC Fire
9. Stuart Ormes
10. John Gildea
11. Dan Small Bicycle Smithy
12. Mick Style Manchester Wheelers
13. Ally Wight Hardrock/BBM Bikes
14. Scott Wilson Manchester Wheelers
15. Sean Beswick Zepnat RT
16. David Hawkins
17. Paul Kelsall
18. Simon Vazquez
19. Dean Harwood
20. Paul Rocklife Manchester Mountain Bikers
21. Mark Oconnell
22. David Kent St Helens Woolybacks
23. Pete Howarth Withington Wheelers
24. Keith Bailey Chorlton Velo
25. Charles Beach Chorlton Velo
26. Peter Reid Manchester Wheelers
27. Pat Rowland
28. Chris Farley
29. Michael Briggs Chorlton Velo
30. Richard Gaskill
31. Gareth Coleman GMC Fire
32. Mike Creary Manchester Wheelers
33. Andrew Wheeler Stockport Clarion
34. Rob Allen Leisure Lakes Bikes
35. Tim Fletcher Manchester Tri
36. Tim Stanley Woo-Ha Ramit
37. Paul Attack
38. Mark Spittlehouse
39. Tony Ormes
40. Edward Chesher Stockport Clarion
41. Richard Lilly Manchester Mountain Bikers
42. Mark L Manchester Wheelers
43. Simon Fairclough Manchester Mountain Bikers
44. Alex Horsley Manchester Mountain Bikers
45. Stuart Nicol
46. Jo Holden
47. Mark Bielby
48. Ian Horridge Manchester Mountain Bikers
49. Simon Ainscough
50. Colin Flinn Manchester Mountain Bikers
51. Neil Evans
52. Jon Board Manchester Mountain Bikers
53. Ian Ainscough
54. Mark Fearnley
55. Lisa Foster Manchester Mountain Bikers
56. Geoff Robinson