Guide: 2016 Motorpoint Grand Prix Series and 2016 British Cycling Women's Road Series at the Ryedale Grand Prix

Home » Road racing » British National Road Series » Grand Prix Series

The 2016 Motorpoint Grand Prix Series heads to the Ryedale Grand Prix for the second round on Sunday – as the 2016 British Cycling Women’s Road Series comes to its conclusion.

Nikki Juniper has already secured the Women’s Road Series title – but individual stage honours are up for grabs in Ampleforth.

Tom Moses leads the standings in the Motorpoint Grand Prix Series having taken victory in the series opener in Staffordshire.

About the series

Motorpoint Grand Prix Series

The Motorpoint Grand Prix Series is a four-round series running from July through to August.

Action began with the RideStaffs Kermesse on Saturday 2 July.

2016 Motorpoint Grand Prix Series

Following Sunday’s race in Ampleforth, the series heads to Abergavenny for the Grand Prix of Wales on 17 July before the series conclusion at the Leicester Castle Classic Kermesse on 14 August.

Riders race for the Motorpoint Grand Prix Series orange winner’s jersey while there is also the battle for the team classification.

Series homepage

British Cycling Women’s Road Series

The Ryedale Grand Prix is the final round of eight in the British Cycling Women’s Road Series which runs from April to July.

The series began with the Manx International GP Feminin on the Isle of Man before heading to the two-day Tour of the Reservoir in Edmundbyers.

2016 Women's Road Series

The third round of the series took place in May with the Lincoln Grand Prix, with round four at the North Bucks Festival of Cycling Grand Prix.

Rounds five, six and seven were held in June at the two-day Essex Giro, the Curlew Cup in Stamfordham and the Otley Grand Prix.

Riders are awarded points for their finishing position in each race, with the rider amassing the highest points total winning the coveted title of British Cycling Women’s Road Series champion.

Series homepage

The courses

Motorpoint Grand Prix Series

2016 Motorpoint Grand Prix Series - Ryedale Grand Prix

Starting at 2pm, the 93.6-mile race consists of three laps of a long circuit and five laps of the short circuit.

The race starts and finishes at Ampleforth Abbey and College and the course features a number of narrow, twisty and occasionally steep lanes.

Women’s Road Series

2016 British Cycling Women's Road Series - Ryedale Grand Prix

Starting at 9am, the women’s race comprises of two laps of the longer circuit and three laps of the shorter circuit.

The course, which is the same as the Motorpoint Grand Prix Series route, runs for 58.5-miles.

What happened last year

NFTO’s Ian Bibby took a last-gasp victory in the Ryedale Grand Prix in 2015, catching Tom Moses at the end of a thrilling race.

2016 Women’s Road Series winner Nikki Juniper was triumphant in Ryedale last year, having been part of a two-rider breakaway with team-mate Abby-Mae Parkinson.

Ones to watch

Motorpoint Grand Prix Series

Tom Moses (JLT Condor) is the early leader in the Motorpoint Grand Prix Series, racing to victory at the RideStaffs Kermesse on Saturday.

The 24-year-old from Keighley dominated in Staffordshire to win by 49 seconds, with his teammates Russell Downing and Chris Lawless in second and third respectively.

2015 Ryedale Grand Prix winner Ian Bibby will be a major threat again in 2016. The NFTO rider took seventh place at the RideStaffs Kermesse and will have his eye on the podium this weekend.

Motorpoint Spring Cup Series winner Adria Moreno Sala was one place behind Bibby in round one and the Spaniard, who races for Raleigh GAC, will be among the contenders in Ampleforth.

Great Britain Cycling Team stars Jon Dibben, Chris Latham and Andy Tennant are also on the start list for Team Wiggins.

Start list

Standings for the 2016 British Cycling Grand Prix Series after round one.

Women’s Road Series

Nikki Juniper has dominated the 2016 British Cycling Women’s Road Series and already claimed this year’s title – but the Ford EcoBoost rider will be keen to finish the competition on a high with a win, especially as she is returning to a race that she won in 2015.

Juniper’s teammate Charline Joiner took the win in round seven at the Otley Grand Prix and a strong performance in Ryedale could see the 28-year-old reach the series podium places.

Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa rider Grace Garner is currently in third place but will not be able to improve her position in the standings as she is not taking part in the final round of the series.

That gives Matrix Fitness p/b Corley Cycles rider Alice Cobb the opportunity to further cement her second place position. Cobb is currently two points clear of Garner.

There is also a chance to see two of the Great Britain Cycling Team’s talented young riders in action as Abigail Dentus and Annasley Park line up in the Team Breeze colours.

Start list

Standings for the 2016 Women's Road Series after round seven

How to follow the racing