Guide: RideStaffs Kermesse opens 2016 Motorpoint Grand Prix Series

Home » Road racing » British Road Series » Grand Prix Series

After an enthralling Motorpoint Spring Cup Series, Britain’s top teams and riders return for the Motorpoint Grand Prix Series opener at the RideStaffs Kermesse - presented by risual, on Saturday 2 July at 6.30pm.

The race in Staffordshire is the first of four rounds in the series with teams and riders keen to take an early advantage in the race for honours.

About the series

The Motorpoint Grand Prix Series consists of four road races with individual and team titles on the line.

After the RideStaffs Kermesse, the series travels to Ampleforth for the Ryedale Grand Prix on 10 July, followed by the Grand Prix of Wales on 17 July in Abergavenny.

Overview of the 2016 Motorpoint Grand Prix Series

After a break, riders race at the Leicester Castle Classic Kermesse for the series finale on 14 August.

Riders earn points based on their finishing position, with the orange Motorpoint Grand Prix Series leader’s jersey on offer for the frontrunner. Squads also compete for the team classification prize.  

Ones to watch

Adria Moreno Sala was crowned Motorpoint Spring Cup Series champion and the Spaniard will start for Team Raleigh in Staffordshire.

Sala did not win one of the five races but consistent high finishes saw him clinch the title at the final race, the Lincoln Grand Prix.

Adria Moreno Sala of Raleigh GAC

NFTO dominated the team standings, partly thanks to two wins from Ian Bibby and a victory from Edmund Bradbury, as well as Jonathan McEvoy’s steady top-20 finishes, and bring a formidable line-up to the Midlands.

Tom Stewart and Erick Rowsell both took wins as Madison Genesis took second behind NFTO in the Motorpoint Spring Cup Series, while Joe Fry was one of a number of riders who shone for the superb Pedal Heaven.

Tom Moses of JLT Condor

JLT Condor’s Tom Moses worked tirelessly in the main breakaway of four riders at Sunday’s British Cycling National Road Championships in Stockton-on-Tees, and also has a victory to his name this season at stage one of the Tour of the Reservoir.

Metaltek Kuota Racing Team and Neon-Velo Cycling Team field strong numbers, with Team Wiggins also set to be present.

Start list

The course

Riders take on fifteen laps of a 5.4km-circuit (66km) around Shugborough Park and Milford.

Stafford Kermesse course map

What happened last year

A superbly timed late escape from 100% me’s Gabriel Cullaigh saw the Great Britain Cycling Team Academy rider hold off the chasing pack for victory in 2015.

Gabriel Cullaigh won the Stafford Kermesse in 2015

How to follow the racing