We have a new website Try it now Hide
 Login Register for free news, tips & videos

Report: Charlotteville Rascals Maillot Jaunt Go-Ride Racing

Share |

Rascals Go-Ride Racing Series
Event: 29 June 2013
Location: Goldsworth Park Recreation Ground, Woking
Report and Image: Ian Haller

Saturday 29 June saw the running of Charlotteville Rascals Go-Ride Maillot Jaunt in honour of the 100th edition of the Tour de France. The event passed without a hitch; not even a team bus stuck at the finish!

This was our 2nd Go-Ride Racing event of the year which again brought the sun out and 47 riders of mixed ages competing for medals over three events. Riders were grouped into four categories; A to D and consisted of our regular Rascals plus a few new faces too.  We look forward to seeing you again at our coaching sessions.

The Races
Individual time trial – this consisted of one timed lap over our mixed terrain course to test the riders’ speed and abilities.

Skills test – riders were timed over the course and received time penalties for missing or hitting obstacles.

Handicapped scratch race – with groups of riders over our mixed terrain course with a varied number of laps and the handicapping calculated from each rider’s individual performance in the earlier time trial event.

Group D (our youngest riders)
19 riders, our largest group, took part in all three events. Finlay Clifford took the honours in the individual time trial with a time of 1 minute 28.70 seconds. 2nd was William Flatau in 1 minute 32.75 seconds and third Joseph Sharkey in 1 minute 35.5 seconds.

In the skills test Finlay Clifford took the honours again with a time of 48 seconds and no penalties; Connor Tinker placed 2nd with a time of 56 seconds including one penalty and 3rd place went to Tom Cockle in a time of 59 seconds with no penalties. Notably Electra Morris and Flynn Tinker also achieved rounds without incurring any penalties, well done to both of you.

In the handicapped scratch race riders competed over 1 lap of the circuit where Daniel Cox over came the opposition to take the win with Hannah Pratt in 2nd and newcomer Monty Nelson in 3rd.

Group C
Group C consisted of 15 riders in total. In the individual time trial Ben Fox took the honours in a time of 1 minute 23.30 seconds. 2nd and 3rd places were hotly contested with Samuel Earley edging out Ben Flatau in 1 minute 25.45 seconds and 1 minute 25.90 seconds respectively.

In the skills test the top two riders had the same times after adding their penalties and so the winner had to be taken on the number of penalties incurred. Honours went to Eliza Jarrett in 41 seconds and one penalty. 2nd went to Samuel Earley in 39 seconds but with 3 penalties and 3rd place went again to Ben Flatau in a time of 51 seconds with no penalties. Four other riders had clear rounds; these being Sarah Sharkey, Finton Longeran, Emma Alon and Ronan Longeran. Well done to those riders.

The handicapped scratch race was competed over two laps of the circuit where Robin Nunwa took the win from Samuel Earley with Ronan Longeran in 3rd place.

Group B
Nine riders in group B. In the individual time trial Sebastian Egan took the win in a time of 1 minute 17.50 seconds. Simon Williams took 2nd in 1 minute 18.69 seconds with 3rd place going to Sam Richardson in 1 minute 23.49 seconds.

The skills test was hotly contested with the top three riders all having clear rounds with no penalties incurred. Kendra Meacock-Fletcher took a great win in a time of 46 seconds. Mark Hewlins placed 2nd with a time of 47 seconds and 3rd place went to Sebastian Egan 49 seconds. Also notably no penalties for either Sam Richardson or Eleanor Shorey.

In the handicapped scratch race riders competed over 3 laps of the circuit where Harry Porteus took control to take the win from Ewan Bleakley with Sebastian Egan in 3rd.

Group A
Group A consisted of four of our top riders. In the individual time trial the top two positions were split by only half a second with Henry Jarrett taking the win from Lewis Haller in 1 minute 11.30 seconds and 1 minute 11.82 seconds respectively. Third place went to Hugh Johnson in 1 minute 13.90 seconds.

In the skills test Henry Jarrett again took the win in a time of 41 seconds and no penalties. Lewis Haller was again 2nd placed rider 51 seconds with one penalty and 3rd place went to Joe Hodges 51 seconds with two penalties.

Five laps of the circuit for the group A saw Joe Hodges starting first and hoping to hold off the rest of the riders to stay clear. His lead lasted until the third lap when he was finally caught and passed by Hugh Johnson. Lewis soon also caught Joe and set off after Hugh with just under two laps to go. The race nearly ended in a sprint but Hugh held on strongly from an ever determined Lewis to take the win by 1.5 seconds. Henry had closed in and overtaken Joe to finish 3rd.

A great mornings racing and a big thank you to everyone involved in making this event so successful, particularly Rex our race organiser & commissar for the morning.  For further information about sessions and events, please see the club website.

Latest Results


Upcoming Events