Cookson: ‘New Year Honours a fitting end to phenomenal year’

Cookson: ‘New Year Honours a fitting end to phenomenal year’

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

29 December 2012

A year of success for British Cycling has been recognised in the New Year Honours list with knighthoods for performance director Dave Brailsford and Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins, and a damehood for 11-time Paralympic champion Sarah Storey.

Victoria Pendleton, who retired this year after earning her second Olympic gold medal, has been made a CBE while there are OBEs for double London 2012 winners Jason Kenny and Laura Trott and MBEs for Steven Burke, Mark Colbourne, Neil Fachie, Philip Hindes, Peter Kennaugh, Dani King, Craig MacLean and Jo Rowsell.

The honours cap an extraordinary 2012 for British Cycling, a year which has seen a first British Tour de France winner, world-leading success at London 2012 and surging participation numbers.

Wiggins (pictured above), who was awarded his seventh Olympic medal when he won the time-trial just days after the Tour this summer, said: “It's an incredible honour and an incredible thing to have.

“I don't think it's something I am going to use in daily life but an amazing thing to have in the drawer for my wife, my kids, my family - it's topped the year off.”

Storey (pictured below) said: “Wow, I am speechless but incredibly honoured and extremely proud to be able to accept this.

“I never expected any additional awards after my sporting success, I love competing for my country and that is a huge honour in itself.

“Now to be a Dame is beyond anything I could have ever imagined and I cannot thank my family, friends, coaches and support staff over all the years enough for their devotion in helping me to follow the path of becoming the best athlete I can possibly be.”

Brailsford (pictured below) said: “It's a great pleasure to receive this honour and tops off a fantastic year.

“I am extremely fortunate to have worked with an amazing team of riders and staff at both British Cycling and Team Sky and it is they who deserve the credit as our achievements are truly a team effort and I thank them all immensely.”

The news was welcomed by British Cycling president Brian Cookson, who said: “This is a fitting end to a phenomenal year for us.

“The outstanding achievements of Dave, Bradley, Sarah, and all of the Great Britain Cycling Team have made us all proud to be British and have shone a spotlight on our sport, inspiring hundreds of thousands of people to take up cycling.

“Cycling is the sport that has redefined our national sporting identity this year and it is fantastic to see this recognised in the New Year Honours list. On behalf of all their colleagues and fellow members of British Cycling, I warmly congratulate Dave, Bradley, and Sarah on achieving this highest of all national honours, and all our other honoured athletes for their well deserved awards.”

Shop the KALAS inspired cycling kit range