BOA Award for Emma Pooley in Cycling

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow       British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       Youtube Channel Visit our       images on Flickr

BOA Award for Emma Pooley

Story posted December 21 |

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has announced the list of recipients of the 2010 Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy. The award was introduced in 2005, to mark the BOA’s Centenary Year and the success of London being awarded the 2012 Olympic Games. The BOA presented a trophy to each of the thirty three summer and winter Olympic sports for them to award on an annual basis to their top performing athlete of the year.

In cycling, that winner was Emma Pooley who said afterwards "I’m very grateful to the BOA for the award. It’s an honour to be recognised alongside the best athletes from all the other Olympic sports. It's been a wonderful season for me and to be Time Trial World Champion is something I didn't dare to dream of; it makes me quite proud."

Photo: PA Images.

"Cycling is a team sport and I couldn't have won a single race without the fantastic support of my team mates. So I'd like to thank them, and also my coach Tim Williams for his encouragement and help in achieving my goals this year."

Andy Hunt, BOA Chief Executive says of the awards to all the athletes “The award of the Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy recognises the dedication, commitment and excellence of athletes who represent the very best of British talent in their respective Olympic sports. I wish all the award winners the very best as they continue their preparations for London 2012, Sochi 2014 and beyond.

"Undoubtedly, the British Olympic highlight of 2010 was Amy Williams’ outstanding performance on the Whistler Sliding Centre where she claimed Olympic gold for Team GB in such fantastic style. The skeleton slider became Britain’s first individual Winter Olympic Champion for 30 years and inspired the millions of Team GB fans watching on TV across the UK."

Athletes from all 26 summer Olympic sports continued to prepare themselves for the once in a lifetime opportunity presented by a home Olympics in London in 2012. During this year, we have seen many well-established sports continue to excel at World and European Championship level, while other sports have demonstrated great progression in their ambition of competing with the very best in 2012."

During 2010, many young athletes have produced thrilling breakthrough performances and it’s particularly encouraging to see so many young athletes named by their sports as the Olympic Athlete of the Year – none more so than taekwondo athlete Jade Jones who made history by becoming Britain’s first Youth Olympic Champion at the inaugural Youth Olympic Games in Singapore in August."

The following athletes have been awarded the BOA Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy:

Sport                Olympic Athlete of the Year
Aquatics          Rebecca Adlington
Archery            Alison Williamson
Athletics          Mo Farah
Badminton      Rajiv Ouseph
Basketball      Pop’s Mensah-Bonsu
Boxing             Tom Stalker
Canoeing       Ed McKeever
Cycling           Emma Pooley
Equestrian     Laura Bechtolsheimer
Fencing          Chrystall Nicoll
Gymnastics    Beth Tweddle
Handball        Holly Lam-Moores
Hockey           Helen Richardson
Judo                Euan Burton
Modern Pentathlon    Sam Weale
Sailing           Ed Wright
Shooting        Elena Allen
Table Tennis    Liam Pitchford
Taekwondo    Jade Jones
Tennis            Andy Murray
Triathlon        Jonathan Brownlee
Volleyball       Nathan French
Weighlifting   Peter Kirbride
Wrestling       Myroslav Dykun
Biathlon        Lee-Steve Jackson
Bobsleigh/skeleton    Amy Williams
Curling          Eve Muirhead
Luge              AJ Rosen
Skating          Sinead and John Kerr
Skiing            Andrew Musgrave

Football, ice hockey and rowing are yet to announce their Olympic Athlete of the Year for 2010.