Great Britain Cycling Team named for UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships

Great Britain Cycling Team named for UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

British Cycling has confirmed the 17-strong squad which will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team in the hunt for rainbow jerseys at the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Emmen, the Netherlands, in September.

A number of riders will compete as reigning champions, with Dame Sarah Storey, Katie Toft and Steve Bate (piloted by Adam Duggleby) all defending titles which they won in Maniago in 2018.

For Storey, these championships represent the opportunity to continue her proud record of having won the WC5 road race and time trial double at the last six championships in which she has participated.

Crystal Lane-Wright also medalled in that same classification last year, and she is selected this year along with Lora Fachie (piloted by Corrine Hall) who brought two silver medals home from Maniago, and Ben Watson, who has won silver and bronze at the last two road world championships.

Dame Sarah Storey said:

“It’s always a real privilege to represent your country on the biggest stage, and the opportunity to compete at a world championships never loses its prestige. I’ll be going to Emmen looking to defend both of my titles, however the standard of para-cycling across the classifications continues to move on at pace, so these championships will be a good test and chance to put a marker down for everyone within the team as we move closer to Tokyo.”

Steve Bate added:

“The last two road world championships have provided contrasting emotions for Adam and myself, but to claim our first rainbow jersey on the road in Maniago last year was an incredible experience. The squad is beginning to take shape now as this Paralympic cycle continues, so it’s key for every member of the team to make the most of these championships and ensure that we can continue the momentum that we have built over the last couple of years.”

Craig Collis-McCann, who won silver in the time trial last year, will be back in action at these world championships, as will Will Bjergfelt, who earlier this year earned his first global medal at the UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships and will have the chance to replicate that achievement on the road.

The squad is completed by Karen Darke, George Peasgood, Jaco van Gass, Simon Price, Hannah Dines, David Stone and Matthew Robertson, who will be making his debut appearance at a road world championships.

Jon Pett, British Cycling’s Head of Para-cycling, said:

“Given the point of the Paralympic cycle we’re in, this is obviously a key event for us, and the strength of the squad we have named reflects that. I’m delighted to once again be able to name such an experienced squad, and will be looking to build on the successes of last year.

“With riders such as Dame Sarah Storey, Steve Bate, Lora Fachie and Crystal Lane-Wright have a wealth of experience and talent which will stand the younger riders and the entire squad in good stead. Performances at the recent world cup in Belgium last month have been a good start to this road season, and will use the forthcoming world cup round in Canada to hone our preparations for the world championships.

“It’s a fantastic opportunity for all of the riders to demonstrate their potential for Tokyo as we enter the final year of preparation as we once again test ourselves against the world’s best.”

The UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships take place between September 12 and 15.

The full Great Britain Cycling Team squad is as follows:

Lora Fachie (piloted by Corrine Hall) – WB

Dame Sarah Storey – WC5

Crystal Lane-Wright – WC5

Katie Toft – WC1

Karen Darke – WH3

Hannah Dines – WT2

Steve Bate (piloted by Adam Duggleby) – MB

Will Bjergfelt – MC5

George Peasgood – MC4

Ben Watson – MC3

Jaco van Gass – MC3

Simon Price – MC2

Matthew Robertson – MC2

Craig Collis-McCann – MT2

David Stone – MT2