Lane-Wright secures second Ostend gold

Lane-Wright secures second Ostend gold

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Crystal Lane-Wright stole the show at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup by storming to victory in the women’s C5 56km race.

After her win in the C5 time trial on Friday, the 32-year-old claimed her second title of the competition after powering home in 1:33.58 ahead of Anna Harkowska of Australia and Germany’s Kerstin Brachtendorf.

Megan Giglia collected bronze in the women’s C3 after coming home in 1:31.22 – beating Australian Simone Kennedy to the final podium spot.

Anna Beck of Sweden and Jamie Whitmore of the United States claimed first and second respectively.
Elsewhere, Katie Toft claimed gold in the women’s C1 road race competing as an individual, while Elizabeth Saul did not start the women’s C4 contest.

In the Women’s B road race, it was Lora Fachie and Corrine Hall who were left smiling after clocking up another medal for themselves after their time trial success earlier in the week.

Fachie and Hall claimed silver behind the Irish duo of Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal, while Alison Patrick and Rosie Lindsay, competing individually, finished sixth.

Earlier in the day, Ben Watson finished a respectable seventh in a dramatic sprint for the line in the men’s C3, with Finlay Graham one place behind.

Belgium’s Kris Bosmans sent the home fans into raptures as he claimed victory on home roads.

Despite their best efforts, Simon Price and Matthew Robertson missed out on a top-ten place in the 64km C2 competition, crossing the line in 11th and 12th respectively with Louis Rolfe a few places behind in 18th.

William Bjergfelt claimed eighth in the 80km C5, while George Peasgood did not finish in the men’s C4 and David Smith did not start in the C2.