Podiums for Pidcock and Richards at final round of Telenet UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup

Podiums for Pidcock and Richards at final round of Telenet UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Tom Pidcock and Evie Richards produced strong performances at the final round of the Telenet UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup in Hoogerheide, one week ahead of the world championships.

The British riders both reached the podium in the Netherlands - with Richards securing a top three finish in the elite women’s race for the second time this season.

The first-ever women’s under-23 cyclo-cross world champion won the elite race in Namur last month, before finishing third in Hoogerheide, just 19 seconds behind current world champion Sanne Cant of Belgium.

Her British team-mate Nikki Brammeier also finished strongly, crossing the line in eighth place, just under a minute behind the race winner - a result that saw her finish fourth overall in the world cup series.

Beth Crumpton secured a season’s best world cup finish of 24th with Helen Wyman three places further back after suffering a chain issue - but the British champion’s consistent form saw her finish seventh overall in the series.

Tom Pidcock finished second in men's under-23 race at the final round of the 2017/18 Telenet UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup

Tom Pidcock recovered from a start-line crash in the men’s under-23 race to finish second - a remarkable result given he had to recover from the back of the field.

Pidcock finished just 25 seconds behind Belgium’s Eli Iserbyt and finished the world cup season as the men’s under-23 champion.

Pidcock’s British teammate Ben Turner finished ninth, 1:45 behind Iserbyt with Daniel Tulett 27th.

In the elite men’s race, Ian Field finished 39th, two laps behind race winner Mathieu Van der Poel of the Netherlands.

Sean Flynn finished 17th in the junior men’s race with Jenson Young 44th as Ben Tulett did not finish.

Attention now turns to the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Valkenburg from 3-4 February with thirteen riders set to represent Great Britain Cycling Team.