British Cycling announces Great Britain Cycling Team for 2015 UCI MTB World Championships

British Cycling announces Great Britain Cycling Team for 2015 UCI MTB World Championships

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

British Cycling has confirmed the team of riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team at the forthcoming UCI MTB World Championships in Vallnord, Andorra from 31 August-6 September.

The 29-strong team includes 2014 downhill world champions Gee Atherton and Manon Carpenter.

Both will face stiff competition from other British riders to retain their title, with Josh Bryceland, runner up to Atherton last year, named in the squad, while Rachel Atherton and Tahnee Seagrave are also selected having completed an all British podium alongside Carpenter in 2014.

Grant Ferguson

Grant Ferguson will compete in the men’s cross-country U23 category and will be hoping to build on his recent second place at the recent European Championships, while Alice Barnes is selected following her recent podium finish in the U23 UCI Mountain Bike World Cup cross-country series in Canada.

Annie Last will compete in the elite women’s race.

World champions Gee Atherton and Manon Carpenter

British Cycling technical director, Shane Sutton, said: “We’ve selected a strong squad for this year’s World Championships with some experienced riders in the downhill categories especially. We’re enjoying a golden age of downhill racing in this country and I hope to see this continue at the worlds.

“We also have some talented young riders who’ve made the team. Grant Ferguson and Alice Barnes have enjoyed some excellent results so far in 2015 and will be hoping to carry that form into the biggest event of the year, and we know what Annie Last is capable of when she produces her best form. I wish them all luck in their races.”

Alice Barnes

Great Britain Cycling Team for the 2015 UCI MTB World Championships

Mountain bike cross-country

Elite women

Annie Last

Under-23 men

Grant Ferguson
Iain Paton

Under-23 women

Alice Barnes

Junior men

Fraser Clacherty
Mark Mcguire
Thomas Craig
Will Gascoyne

Junior women

Evie Richards
Ffion James

Mountain bike downhill

Elite men

Gee Atherton (automatic as reigning world champion)
Mike Jones
Josh Bryceland
Danny Hart
Matt Simmonds
Sam Dale
Brendan Fairclough
Bernard Kerr

Elite women

Manon Carpenter (automatic as reigning world champion)
Rachel Atherton
Tahnee Seagrave
Katy Curd

Junior men

Laurie Greenland
Frazer McCubbing
Bradley Swinbank
Neil Stewart
Elliot Heap
Charlie Hatton
James Purvis