British Cycling confirms the Great Britain Cycling Team squad for 2013/14

British Cycling confirms the Great Britain Cycling Team squad for 2013/14

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

The Great Britain Cycling Team squad for the 2013/14 funding year has been named by British Cycling.

Performance director Sir Dave Brailsford has declared the squad ‘in good shape for this stage of the Olympic cycle’ and the news comes after a year in which the Great Britain Cycling Team followed up the successes of London 2012 by producing five new world champions in Becky James, Liam Phillips, Lora Turnham (piloted by Corinne Hall), Elinor Barker and Simon Yates.

New features of the squad include a Paralympic Development Programme which will help produce the next generation of para-cycling champions.

Performance Director Sir Dave Brailsford said: “In line with the UK Sport funding structure, we have reviewed the British Cycling’s Olympic Programmes, and I believe we have a strong squad to take us into the second year of this Olympic cycle.

“The track programme is primarily made up from young riders which is a change to what we’ve had in previous years, but there’s certainly a lot of experience in the Podium group which I think the Academy and ODP level riders can benefit from.

“On the sprint side, we welcome Katy Marchant to the Podium programme from UK Athletics where she used to compete in the heptahlon event.

"Danni Khan steps up to the Academy having had a fantastic season in 2012/13, culminating in winning two gold medals and one silver in the UCI Junior Track World Championships so it will be interesting to see how she develops now she is a full-time athlete.

“On the endurance side, we have world champion women’s team pursuit squads at both elite and junior level and it’s great to have that pool of talent to develop which will hopefully help us to continue our dominance in that event through to Rio, especially now it has become a four-woman event.

“We have a different approach this year to the women’s academy, with Welsh Cycling taking four of the Academy riders [Amy Hill, Hayley Jones, Emily Kay and Amy Roberts] under their coaching guidance, but working closely with Chris Newton who leads on coaching the podium endurance women.

“The benefit here is that the Academy riders will get more opportunity to race with Welsh trade team Team USN which will aid their development.

“In the men’s endurance programme, Ross Edgar has switched from sprint to endurance so it will be interesting to see how he develops, and in the Academy it’s good to see four riders – Germain Burton, Chris Lawless, Jake Ragan and Ollie Wood - step up from the ODP.

“This group had a strong season on the road last year riding for Tao Geoghagen Hart, who this year will ride for the Bissell Cycling Team and so leaves the Programme, but I have no doubt he has a great future and we will be keeping a close eye on him.

“We welcome back Simon Cope who has taken on the role of coaching the men’s endurance academy programme whilst they focus on the track, with Keith Lambert continuing the lead on coaching them on the road.

“The BMX programme has really stepped up since Liam Phillips became world champion and he continues to set the standard for the Academy riders who train with him almost daily.

“The programme loses Shanaze Reade who is taking some time away for the programme to focus on the ABA BMX Series in America, but this is a massive opportunity for Abbie Taylor and new Academy recruit Charlotte Green to fill the position of British number one.

“There is no doubt that the BMX Programme has benefited from the Indoor BMX Centre, and we have recently modified that track to make the first jump to be of Olympic standard – an upgrade which will serve to further develop our BMX squad.

“There has been a slight restructuring of BMX coaching system, with Grant White continuing to lead the programme in his role of National BMX Coach, and Marcus Bloomfield supporting him in his new role of Academy and ODP BMX Coach.

“The mountain bike programme will be a real focus area for us going forward. At present, we only have one Podium level rider in Annie Last, but this is something we’re looking to bolster over the coming years and we have a strong pool of Academy and Development athletes who we will be working closely with.

“The Para-cycling Team continues to perform well on the road, with Lora Turnham and Corinne Hall plus David Stone returning from Canada as world champions in the road race and Time Trial respectively.

“Despite a lack of para-cycling track events, the track squad continues to train hard and are looking to be in good shape for when the racing calendar is confirmed. A significant change to the para-cycling squad is the establishment of the Paralympic Development Programme which we set up earlier this year as a direct result of the increase in funding we received from UK Sport.

"We have appointed Harriet Gordon as Talent and Development manager, and John Hewitt and Anthony Malarczyk as development coaches.

“This is a great step forward for para-cycling in Britain as we now have a process in place to identify and progress disabled athletes with a talent for cycling.

“In all, I think we’re looking to be in good shape for this stage of the Olympic cycle. We have a real depth of talent in the Academy and Development Programme and I’m looking forward to seeing how they can develop and deliver over the coming twelve months.”

Olympic Podium Programme

Men’s sprint

Matt Crampton

Kian Emadi

Phil Hindes

Jason Kenny

Lewis Oliva

Callum Skinner

Women’s sprint

Becky James

Katy Marchant

Jess Varnish

Vicky Williamson

Men’s endurance

Steven Burke

Mark Cavendish

Ed Clancy

Steve Cummings

Jon Dibben

Alex Dowsett

Ross Edgar

Josh Edmondson

Andy Fenn

Chris Froome

Sam Harrison

Pete Kennaugh

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift

Andy Tennant

Geraint Thomas

Sir Bradley Wiggins

Adam Yates

Simon Yates

Women’s endurance

Lizzie Armitstead

Elinor Barker

Dani King

Joanna Rowsell

Laura Trott

Men’s BMX

Liam Phillips

Women’s Cross-country Mountain Bike:

Annie Last

Olympic Academy Programme

Men’s sprint

Matt Rotherham

Women’s sprint

Rosie Blount

Danni Khan

Women’s endurance

Katie Archibald

Lucy Garner

Amy Hill

Hayley Jones

Emily Kay

Amy Roberts

Men’s endurance

Germain Burton

Owain Doull

Chris Latham

Chris Lawless

Oliver Wood

Men’s BMX

Kyle Evans

Grant Hill

Curtis Manaton

Tre Whyte

Women’s BMX

Charlotte Green

Abbie Taylor

Men’s Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Kenta Gallagher

Grant Ferguson

Women’s Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Alice Barnes

Bethany Crumpton

Olympic Development Programme

Men’s endurance

Matthew Bostock

Gabriel Cullaigh

Joe Evans

Joseph Fry

Matthew Gibson

Joe Holt

Ellis Kirkbride

Women’s endurance

Megan Barker

Abigail Dentus

Grace Garner

Bethany Hayward

Melissa Lowther

Emily Nelson

Abby-Mae Parkinson

Lucy Shaw

Men’s sprint

Leon Gledhill

Thomas Scammell

Joseph Truman

Women’s sprint

Sophie Capewell

Men’s BMX

Quillan Isidore

Paddy Sharrock

Ryan Stack

Women’s BMX

Valerie Zebrokova

Men’s Cross Country Mountain Bike

Frazer Clacherty

Thomas Craig

Dylan Kerfoot Robson

Mark McGuire

Calum Moagowan

Ian Paton

Mike Thompson

Women’s Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Martha Gill

Ffion James

Paralympic Podium Programme

Jon Allan Butterworth

Jody Cundy

Karen Darke

Neil Fachie

Corinne Hall

Rachel James

Darren Kenny

Crystal Lane

Craig MacLean

Shaun McKeown

Pete Mitchell

Rachel Morris

Jason Queally

Helen Scott

David Stone

Dame Sarah Storey

Lauryn Therin

Lora Turnham

Paralympic Academy Programme

Brian Alldis

Rhiannon Henry

Simon Price

Sophie Thornhill

Paralympic Development Programme

Steve Arnold

Megan Boyd

Justin Davies

Matt Ellis

Andy Kelsey

Jaco van Gass

Jonathan Wren

Shop the KALAS inspired cycling kit range