Go-Ride Tour: Tour of Gallagher Park

MTB XC , Bedlington – Monday, 07 Jul 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Mon, 7th Jul 2014

Event Type:

MTB XC (Competitive)


Gallagher Park, Police Station, Schalksmuhle Road, Bedlington, Northumberland, NE22 7LA
View map

Info for Riders

Sign on time 6.30pm. Start time 7pm. Muddy Mondays have league prizes overall for boys and girls in youth categories A-E. No advance entry. Each event will feature a hill climb, skills race and a mass start race.

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
7/07/14 19:00 Various Go-Ride Races Go-Ride Racing --- N/A ---

View All

Enter a Race

Race Various Go-Ride Races
Date Start Classification Rider Cat
Mon 07/07/14 19:00 Go-Ride Racing N/A
Entry: On Day: (£4.00)
Race Various Go-Ride Races
Mon 07/07/14 - 19:00
Classification: Go-Ride Racing
Rider Cat: N/A
Entry: On Day: (£4.00)

Report: Tour de Gallagher Park

Posted 14/07/2014 - Stephen McIntosh

The Tour of Gallagher Park, the Barnesbury CC Go Ride promotion to encourage youngsters to get involved in the sport following the Tour’s visit to Yorkshire took place on Monday 7th July 2014 at Gallagher Park, Bedlington. 16 riders, 5 of which were girls battled it out for the yellow, green, white and polka dot jersey’s on offer. The event featured an off road 1 lap prologue, a sprint event on a short course to reduce overall time with bonus seconds before tackling a MTB event (handicapped for the better riders in the Cat 5 race) finishing with a mass start hill climb.

Starting off in blistering style in the fastest race on the night, under 10 rider Daniel Holmes (Tyneside Vagabonds) beat the older riders in the prologue time trial to take a 2 second lead going into the sprint race. Joint second, 2 seconds behind were Tyneside Vagabonds pair Fiona Turnbull and Joe Tubby. However positions changed in the sprint elimination event as Turnbull capitalised on a great start to win maximum points and take a 23 second bonus. Tubby’s hopes on the overall were dealt a major blow with a poor start meaning he was eliminated on the first lap. Holmes only managed a 4 second bonus allowing Turnbull to go into the lead for yellow. Jack Nicholson (MRPSCC) scored 8 bonus seconds going into the mass start race to leave him in contention. Turnbull, scratch rider in the handicapping meant she needed to reduce the advantage Holmes, Tubby and the other Cat 5 riders had on her to try and keep her lead. Holmes took full advantage of his 40 second lead on Turnbull beating her by 21 seconds, however it was Nicholson who won the race taking maximum advantage on Turnbull and the other riders. Tubby also took time on Turnbull, meaning the overall winner would come down to the mass start hill climb. Turnbull beat Tubby by 6 seconds with Holmes finishing a further second back, Turnbull managed to win the overall title by 3 seconds from Holmes who continues to improve his potential. Tubby claimed 3rd with MRPSCC rider Jack Nicholson a close 4th.

In the Cat 4 event Grace Castle (Newcastle Phoenix) competed well to take a 11 second lead from the prologue from team mate Will Hetherington, Pete Watson (Barnesbury CC) was third, using his exceptional bike handling skills in the short course sprint Watson took maximum sprint bonus seconds of 15 seconds to go into the lead overall. With Castle taking a tumble and riding against older riders it was unclear if this would affect her going into the mass start race. Castle showed class in the final stages, never looked back in the mass start MTB race winning the category and taking her advantage into the climb and winning this as well.

Cat 3 rider Jon Morley (Barnesbury CC) beat team mate Ollie Hutchinson by 13 seconds with Edith McIntosh finished a further 2 seconds back in the prologue. Morley scored max points in the sprint event to extend his lead from Hutchinson. Morley continued his dominance in the mass start stage, but in the hill climb Hutchinson showed his determination to scoop the polka dot jersey and reduce the deficit on Morley. McIntosh finished 3rd for a Barnesbury clean sweep.

Barry Scott (Newcastle Phoenix) dominated the Cat 2 race to win all the rounds from a promising new rider - Harry Sylph (Tyneside Vagabonds), Martha McIntosh (Barnesbury CC) finished 3rd. In the Cat 1 race going to under 6 rider Grace Scott (Newcastle Phoenix), the Go Ride Race promotion which was aimed at encouraging new riders into the sport like Scott was a great success. Scott’s dad who ran around the course to support her was also happy that the event was based on short courses ride able to all comers, although organiser Steve Mcintosh was asked to make it shorter next time around.... just for the dads!!!

If you would like to get involved in the sport Barnesbury CC run coaching sessions in MTB/off road cycling or BMX using the facilities at Gallagher Park each Saturday throughout the year. For more information please go to www.barnesbury-cc.co.uk for more details. The prize presentation for both the Tour event and the Muddy Monday MTB series supported by Start Cycles will take place at Level 3 Manor Walks, Cramlington next Monday 14th July 2014 from 7.00pm.

View Full Report

Provisional Results

Pos Number Name Club Prologue Sprint Bonus Mass Start Hill Climb Overall Overal Minus Bonus
Cat 1                  
1 4 Grace Scott Newcastle Phoenix 04:43 -5 10:23 01:10 16:16 16:11
Cat 2                  
1 23 Ben Scott Newcastle Phoenix 02:34 -15 14:18 01:06 17:58 17:43
2 22 Harry Sylph Tyneside Vagabonds 02:41 2 14:25 01:12 18:18 18:16
3 20 Martha McIntosh Barnesbury CC 03:16 0 16:30 01:24 21:10 21:10
Cat 3                  
1 41 Jon Morley Barnesbury CC 02:21 -15 15:57 01:09 19:27 19:12
2 42 Oliver Hutchinson Barnesbury CC 02:34 2 16:20 00:56 19:50 19:48
3 40 Edith McIntosh Barnesbury CC 02:36 0 18:14 01:03 21:53 21:53
Cat 4                  
1 61 Grace Castle Newcastle Phoenix 01:58 2 14:04 00:47 16:49 16:47
2 64 Will Hetherington Newcastle Phoenix 02:09 0 14:14 00:58 17:21 17:21
3 65 Pete Watson Barnesbury CC 02:14 -15 14:28 01:26 18:08 17:53
Cat 5                  
1 85 Fiona Turnbull Tyneside Vagabonds 01:48 -23 14:07 00:36 16:31 16:08
2 87 Daniel Holmes Tyneside Vagabonds 01:46 4 13:46 00:43 16:15 16:11
3 84 Joe Tubby Tyneside Vagabonds 01:48 0 13:49 00:42 16:19 16:19
4 81 Jack Nicholson MRPSCC 01:56 8 13:35 00:59 16:30 16:22
5 82 Kurt Smith MRPSCC 02:05 2 13:49 01:22 17:16 17:14
6 83 Ben Parker MRPSCC 01:56 6 14:25 01:06 17:27 17:21

Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/acceptableuse. If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to events@britishcycling.org.uk

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart