Muddy Monday Youth Mountain Bike League - Event 2

MTB XC , Bedlington – Monday, 16 Jun 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Mon, 16th Jun 2014

Event Type:

MTB XC (Competitive)


Gallagher Park, Police Station, Schalksmuhle Road, Bedlington, Northumberland, NE22 7LA
View map

Info for Riders

Sign on time 6.30pm. Start time 7pm. Muddy Mondays have league prizes overall for boys and girls in youth categories A-E. No advance entry. Each event will feature a hill climb, skills race and a mass start race.

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
16/06/14 19:00 Various Go-Ride Races Go-Ride Racing --- N/A ---

View All

Enter a Race

Race Various Go-Ride Races
Date Start Classification Rider Cat
Mon 16/06/14 19:00 Go-Ride Racing N/A
Entry: On Day: (£4.00)
Race Various Go-Ride Races
Mon 16/06/14 - 19:00
Classification: Go-Ride Racing
Rider Cat: N/A
Entry: On Day: (£4.00)

Muddy Monday - Round 2 Report

Posted 18/06/2014 - Stephen McIntosh

Monday 16th June 2014 saw the 2nd event in the 4 race Muddy Monday MTB Youth Series. 25 riders signed up to take part in the mass start, hill climb and skills challenge. With the sun shining again, Daniel Holmes u10 (Tyneside Vags) lead the field in the mass start race on the first lap, the lead riders were into the single track technical section when some confusion with the back markers meant some of the u8 riders following the u6’s to use the shortened less technical lap designed for the u6’s Alex Hutchinson (Barnesbury CC) and Zavier Cleathero (unattached) who are only 3 years old. The u14 riders Fiona Turnbull (Tyneside Vags) and Jack Nicholson (Morpeth Road Primary School CC) eventually overhauled Holmes, with Turnbull taking the win over the field to score maximum points for the second week running.


Close racing throughout the age categories was again evident in all of the racing, meaning the overall league titles are still very close. Matty Hodgson (Barnesbury CC) u6 has maximum points in both rounds. Jon Morley (Barnesbury CC) overcalled Ollie Hutchinson (Barnesbury CC) to take a slender 1 point lead in the u8 age category, the closest competition for the title which will surely go down to the wire and the 4th event. Performance of the night was Will Hetherington (Newcastle Phoenix) who moved into second overall in the u12 cat and is only 6 points away from Pete Watson (Barnesbury CC), both riders capitalised on the Morpeth Road School’s trip to France which saw all their u12 riders not starting the event.


Many thanks to the volunteers for making the night run so smoothly. See you next week for the 7.00pm start.

View Full Report

Provisional Results

        Race 2      
Pos Name Club M/F Mass Start HC Skills Total
1 Matty Hodgson Barnesbury CC M 25 25.0 25 75
2 Zavier Cleathero Unattached M 15 20.0 20 55
3 Alex Hutchinson Barnesbury CC M 20 15.0 15 50
1 Jonathan Morley Barnesbury CC M 25 15.0 25 65.0
2 Oliver Hutchinson Barnesbury CC M 20 25.0 15 60.0
3 Ben Scott Newcastle Phoenix M 15 14.0 20 49.0
4 Martha McIntosh Barnesbury CC F 11 13.0 14 38.0
5 Amelia Cleathero Hetton Hawks F 14 20.0 12 46.0
6 Sam Holmes Tyneside Vagabonds M 12 11.0 11 34.0
7 Nathan Castle Newcastle Phoenix M 10 0.0 0 10.0
8 Harry Sylph Tyneside Vagabonds M 13 12.0 13 38.0
1 Daniel Holmes Tyneside Vagabonds M 25 25.0 25 75.0
2 Grace Castle Newcastle Phoenix F 20 20.0 20 60.0
3 Daniel Saba Newcastle Phoenix M 15 13.0 14 42.0
4 Edith McIntosh Barnesbury CC F 13 14.5 13 40.5
5 Joe Case Tyneside Vagabonds M       0.0
6 Jake Hodgson Barnesbury CC M 14 14.5 15 43.5
1 Pete Watson Barnesbury CC M 20 20.0 25 65.0
2 Will Hetherington Newcastle Phoenix M 25 25.0 20 70.0
3 Lewis Knowles Morpeth Road Primary School CC M       0.0
4 Jessica Hickson Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
5 Tamisha Davidson Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
6 Katie Henderson Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
7 Jordan Kelly Morpeth Road Primary School CC M       0.0
8 Jessica Walton Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
9 Jessica Burge Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
10 Francisa Wilkinson Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
11 Ellie Burge Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
12 Caitlin Shields Morpeth Road Primary School CC F       0.0
1 Fiona Turnbull Tyneside Vagabonds F 25 22.5 12.5 60.0
2 Joe Tubby Tyneside Vagabonds M 14 22.5 17.5 54.0
3 Ben Parker Morpeth Road Primary School CC M 15 15.0 25 55.0
4 Jack Nicholson Morpeth Road Primary School CC M 20 11.0 14 45.0
5 Tyler Dobie Morpeth Road Primary School CC M 12 13.0 12.5 37.5
6 Kurt Smith Morpeth Road Primary School CC M 11 12.0 11 34.0
7 Joe Hodgson Barnesbury CC M 13 14.0 17.5 44.5

Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart