Poole v Wednesfield - Elite League

Cycle Speedway , POOLE – Sunday, 27 Jul 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sun, 27th Jul 2014

Event Type:

Cycle Speedway (Competitive)


Poole Cycle Speedway, Newfoundland Drive, Baiter, Poole, Dorset, BH15 1UZ
View map


Elite League

Event promoted by:

Poole CSC (website)

Cheques payable to:


The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
27/07/14 14:00 Elite League National --- N/A ---

View All

Enter a Race

Race Elite League
Date Start Classification Rider Cat
Sun 27/07/14 14:00 National N/A
Race Elite League
Sun 27/07/14 - 14:00
Classification: National
Rider Cat: N/A


Posted 28/07/2014 - Peter Barnes



These two cycle speedway giants have battled away with each other in just about every season since Poole

opened up in 1975 and like so many of their encounters in the ensuing 40 years,  this match followed a similar

pattern as the hosts were determined to avenge the heavy defeat they suffered at Ashmore park on the opening

day of the Elite season.


The Comets supplied the opening three heat winners in Gav Wheeler, Arek Szymanski and Greg Gluchowski, but

with Marcin Szymanski suffering a rare tumble the scoreline stood at 16-14 and the Aces seized the opportunity

to pounce in heat 4 after Wheeler was ruled out at the tapes leaving Ben Donohue on the wrong end of a 7-2

behind Chris Jewkes and Roger Cox.


Ricky Johnson got the better of the home Morgan/Hook pairing moving the score to 23 - 26 but then Poole sprung to

life with a run of four 7 - 3 maximums which left the visitors reeling at the interval as they trailed 51 - 37 with only

Cox and Johnson able to win a race.


With the advantage of inside grids after the break, the Aces hoped for better as Matt Smith took heat 10 in some

style but the powerful Szymanski pairing of Arek and Marcin notched another maximum which extended the

Poole advantage to an almost unassailable 18 points and when this duo each won their 4th races, a feat matched

by unbeaten skipper Greg Gluchowski, the league points were in the bag.


An over-exuberant pass by Arek Szymanski on Matt Smith in heat 17 spoiled the maximum hopes of the Polish star who

found himself back in the pits and allowed the Aces to take the second of two race wins in the closing heats to prevent

the Comets breaking their target of 100 points. Ricky Johnson won the final race by holding on to his advantage with

inches to spare against World champion Szymanski.


2014 Elite league honours finished up even between these two in a match which was a perfect shop window for the sport

with a big holiday crowd at Harbourside enjoying the action. With Paul Heard still not ready for his return to the track

the Aces were missing a vital cog while the Comets were very well balanced with the World number 1 back in their ranks!


Poole 96

Arek Szymanski 15+1 Greg Gluchowski 14+2 Marcin Szymanski 14+1 Arron Morgan 13

Steve Harris 13 Gavin Wheeler 11+2 Aaron Smith 7 Dean Hook 6+2 Ben Donohue 3

Wednesfield 81

Chris Jewkes 13+1 Ben Mould 13 Matt Smith 12 Ricky Johnson 11 Lee Aris 10+2

Mark Griffiths 10+1 Roger Cox 9+1 Hayden Rowley 2 Glynn Rowley 1




In the Elite match race, Wednesfield challenger Ben Mould won the toss for grid positions and kept his head under 4 laps of constant pressure from holder Greg Gluchowski to pick up the trophy.




If all Division 2 matches were like this one, nobody would ever think twice about their place in the racing schedules.

The current and previously unbeaten young Aces went head to head with the 2013 champions and from heat 3 onwards, there was never more than 2 points between the sides.


Lively early exchages saw Poole open with a Smith/Bristowe 7-3 followed by a 6-4 from Callum Albin and Luke Armes but the Aces were level with 2 heats as first Hayden Chant and then Wil Bristowe got their matching orders. In the next four shared heats there were wins for Chant and Smith for the hosts and Kemp and Evriss who were best for the visitors. This quartet would later feature in the match decider.


The Albin/Armes pairing put in another 6-4 in heat 9 to make it 44-42 but after two more shared heats, the Holcroft/Rowley duo notched a timely 6-4 of their own to square the match off at 58-58. Poole were thankful to have won the coin toss at the start of procedings and tracked Hayden Chant from gate 1 and Aaron Smith on 3 while the Aces skipper Harry Evriss took 2 leaving partner Lee Kemp on 4.


The classic two races in one soon developed with Evriss desperately trying to keep pace with speedy Chant while Kemp tried in vain to find a way past the ever vigilant Smith. A thrilling end to a brilliant match and indeed to a great day's racing at Harbourside.


Poole 64

Aaron Smith 16+1 Callum Albin 14 Hayden Chant 13+1 Jay Briggs 7+1

Luke Armes 7+1 Wil Bristowe 6 Niall Instone 1

Wednesfield 62

Harry Evriss 14+2  Lee Kemp 11 Dave Meanley 10 Jordan Holcroft 9

Hayden Rowley 8+2 Connor Dyke 7 Carl Parfitt 3

View Full Report

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/acceptableuse. If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to events@britishcycling.org.uk