Clayton Spring Classic Handicap Road Race 2014

Road , Clitheroe – Sunday, 23 Feb 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sun, 23rd Feb 2014

Event Type:

Road (Competitive)


Edisford Primary School, Edisford Road, Clitheroe, Lancashire, BB7 2LN
View map

Entry close date

Wed, 5th Feb 2014

Info for Riders

Open to male, female E/1/2/3/4/J organiser selects the field.

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
23/02/14 10:00 E/1/2/3/4 - 88 km Regional C+ Band 5 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, ... 88km / 55 miles

View All

Enter a Race

Race E/1/2/3/4
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sun 23/02/14 10:00 Regional C+ Band 5 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Elite
Entry: On Day: (£20.00)
Race E/1/2/3/4
Sun 23/02/14 - 10:00
Classification: Regional C+
Band: Band 5
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Elite
Entry: On Day: (£20.00)

Wilson solos to victory in Clayton Velo Spring Classic

Posted 23/02/2014 - Peter Boast

Report: Snowdon Sports

Wheelbase-Altura placed two riders in the top four – and secured victory – as Simon Wilson won the Clayton Velo Spring Classic Handicap in Lancashire on Sunday.

Wilson, 33 and from Burnley, crossed the line alone after attacking from the leading bunch on the last of 14 laps of a circuit based around Edisford, which made up 54 miles of racing.

As the groups began to merge a leading bunch formed – including Wilson’s Wheelbase team-mate Tom Barras – so the eventual winner sat in and waited.

But as that group failed to make much headway a four-rider break went on the chase and caught them. Almost straight away there was another split, as the seven strongest riders continued to press home their lead as the final lap approached.

“Going into the last lap, I clipped off the front just as another group of four got across to the leaders,” said Wilson afterwards. “Everyone hesitated so I got a gap, and at the line there was no-one else in sight.

“It’s a great start for the team, and I’m pleased to get the win for them as it’s my first season with Wheelbase-Altura. It’s the Eddie Soens Memorial next week; I’ve finished fourth in that before now so I’m aiming to improve.

“And it was a good day all round today, as my girlfriend Rebecca Rimmington won the women’s race too!”

Meanwhile, David McGowan (Metaltek) led in the chasing group, with Richard Handley (Rapha Condor) third and Tom Barras (Wheelbase-Altura) fourth.


1 Simon Wilson (Wheelbase-Altura)
2 David McGowan (Metaltek)
3 Richard Handley (Rapha Condor)
4 Tom Barras (Wheelbase-Altura)

Women: Rebecca Rimmington (Merlin Cycles).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.


View Full Report

Confirmed Results

Race E/1/2/3/4

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 Simon Wilson Wheelbase Altura MGD Finished Elite 10
2 David McGowan SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team Finished 1st 8
3 Richard Handley JLT Condor Finished Elite 7
4 Tom Barras Wheelbase Altura MGD Finished Elite 6
5 Matt Cronshaw Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 5
6 Liam Holohan Madison Genesis Finished Elite 4
7 Robert Partridge Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 3
8 Declan Byrne Baguet-MIBA Poorten Indulek CT Finished 1st 2
9 Luke Grivell-Mellor JLT Condor Finished 2nd 1
10 Philip West VC St Raphael Finished 3rd 1
11 Hugh Carthy JLT Condor Finished 1st 0
12 John Didsbury Lune RCC Finished 3rd 0
13 Jack Escritt Velocity Globalbike Finished 2nd 0
14 James Gullen Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 0
15 Nathan Edmondson Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished 2nd 0
16 Matthew Bulmer All Terrain Cycles Ride In Pea... Finished 2nd 0
17 Andy Leigh Terra Safety Shoes Finished 1st 0
18 Ian Bibby Madison Genesis Finished Elite 0
19 Richard Hepworth Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 0
20 Joshua Hunt NFTO Finished 1st 0
21 Sam Boast Wheelbase Altura MGD Finished 1st 0
22 Thomas Bustard Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 0
23 Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis Finished 1st 0
24 Fabian Brennan Velocity Globalbike Finished 2nd 0
25 Ben Aldred Team Chronomaster Finished 2nd 0
26 Jack Pullar Velosure Starley Primal Finished Elite 0
27 Alexander Braybrooke Velocity Globalbike Finished 3rd 0
28 Aidan Holgate North Lancashire RC Finished 3rd 0
29 Lewis Mulholland Glasgow Cycle Team Finished 3rd 0
30 Oliver Payton PH-MAS Cycling Finished 2nd 0
31 Hamish Graham Finished 3rd 0
32 Sam Dobson Green Jersey RT Finished 2nd 0
33 Karl Freeman Team Wheelguru Finished 2nd 0
34 Paul Brady Finished 4th 0
35 Mark Westwood Finished N/A 0
36 Craig Battersby Team Chronomaster Finished 2nd 0
37 Andy Brown Glasgow Cycle Team Finished 3rd 0
38 Julian Varley PH-MAS Cycling Finished 3rd 0
39 Matthew Winston VC St Raphael Finished 2nd 0
40 James Claydon Bill Nickson Cycles RT Finished 2nd 0
41 Alastair Wareham Team Swift Finished 2nd 0
42 Warren Gell RT Finished 4th 0
43 Rory Mellis Bicycle Works Finished 3rd 0
44 Stephen Abbott THR Racing Finished Elite 0
45 Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC Finished 2nd 0
46 Mark Horrocks Hope Factory Racing Finished 4th 0
47 Simon Deplitch Team Chronomaster Finished 4th 0
48 Mark Hammersley Team Wheelguru Finished 2nd 0
49 Darran Acton Team Chronomaster Finished 3rd 0
50 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle Finished 2nd 0
51 Rebecca Rimmington Finished 3rd 0
52 Stephen Smith Champion System VCUK Racing Te... Finished 1st 0
Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart