British Cycling Announces 2011 Para-Cycling Squad

British Cycling Announces 2011 Para-Cycling Squad

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on 
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

British Cycling Announces Intake for 2011 Para-Cycling Programme

British Cycling, home to Britain's most successful sport in the last Paralympic Games, has today confirmed the names of the 13 Podium, eight Academy and three Talent athletes that will make up the GB Para-Cycling Team in 2011.

The squad comprises of experienced athletes including multiple Paralympic and World Champions such as Sarah Storey, Jody Cundy, Rachel Morris and David Stone, as well as new talent from the successful Battle Back programme and transfers from other sports.

Gareth Sheppard, Performance Manager for the GB Para-Cycling Team, said: "We've had a very strong year during which we took on some new athletes and tailored our performance programme towards London 2012.

"2010 also marked the start of the qualification process for the 2012 Paralympics Games and our athletes achieved strong results at the first two qualifying events - the World Cup in Spain and the Road World Championships in Canada.

"In 2011 our focus will be on scoring as many points as possible to ensure early qualification, thereby allowing us to create an optimum training and competitive environment for the squad in the build-up to 2012."


Mark Bristow
Jody Cundy
Neil Fachie
Ellen Hunter
Anthony Kappes
Darren Kenny
Aileen McGlynn
Craig McLean
Rachel Morris
David Stone
Barney Storey
Sarah Storey
Rik Waddon


Jon-Allan Butterworth
Tel Byrne
Karen Darke
Shaun McKeown
Rebecca Rimmington
Helen Scott
Lora Turnham
Russell White


Brian Alldis
Crystal Lane
Arthur Williams