Cav, Swift & Stone Reach Awards Finals

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Cavendish, Swift and Stone Make Northern Sports Awards Finals

Posted: 24th June 2011

Multiple TdF stage winner Mark Cavendish, Team Sky's Ben Swift and GB Para-Cyclist David Stone are among the finalists in the MBNA Northern Sports Awards.

Following a public vote, the finalists for the MBNA Northern Sports Awards have been revealed and the winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Monday 4th July.

The MBNA Northern Sports Awards takes place at The Point @ Lancashire County Cricket Club. The event is the first of its kind; a celebration of sporting excellence in the North which embraces all aspects of the region's sporting world and recognises its outstanding contribution.

There are 19 award categories in total, six of which were shortlisted by a 'People's Panel' made up of a group of sports journalists and broadcast personalities. The shortlists were then put up for public vote.

The six categories chosen by the People's Panel were: Sportsman of the Year; Sportswoman of the Year; Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability; Breakthrough/Newcomer of the Year; Team of the Year; Manager of the Year.

The voting has now closed and the finalists are:

Sports Manager/ Coach of the Year
Ian Holloway
Michael Maguire
Roberto Mancini

Team of the Year
Manchester City FC
Whitley Bay FC
Wigan Warriors

Ben Stokes
Ben Swift
Seamus Coleman

Sportsperson with a Disability
David Stone
Hannah Cockcroft
Jo Willoughby

Sportswoman of the Year
Jessica Ennis
Jill Scott
Rebecca Adlington

Sportsman of the Year
Jimmy Anderson
Mark Cavendish
Lee Westwood.

Jimmy Anderson, a contender for Sportsman of the Year said:

"I am really chuffed to have been selected as one of the candidates for Northern Sportsman of the Year. I'm up against some pretty stiff competition, it will be interesting to see how the public have voted! It's great to be involved in an event like this that will highlight the huge contribution that the North of England makes to sport."

The winners will be announced at the MBNA Northern Sports Awards, along with the winners from the other 13 categories.

MBNA Northern Sports Awards - 4th July 2011 - The Point at LCCC

Further information on