Cross: Markham charges to victory in Leicester

Cross: Markham charges to victory in Leicester

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Beaumont Leys, Leicester
Event: 17 November 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

Luke Markham (Rugby Velo) led from the front distancing his rivals as the race went on in round nine of the West Midland League in Leicester.

A rain shower before the start of the senior race made the course fast but very slippery as riders skidded off on the fast technical corners.

Markham, aged 18, made no mistake as he set off from the gun and had Peter Banham (Fred William Cycles) for company as they finished the opening lap.

The two worked well together in the opening stages until the half-way point when Markham was just too strong for his rival pulling away to victory.

Behind Stephen Knight (Team Jewson) was picking his way through the field after starting 1 minute 30 seconds behind the seniors with the veterans 40+ and by the finish he moved up to third overall and first veteran just 40 seconds behind Markham.

In the Junior/Veteran 50+ and Women’s race, junior rider James Garrett (Welland Valley CC) again dominated proceedings taking an early lead and building it into a big advantage.

First veteran 50+ home was Peter Harris who built up a healthy lead over his category opposition and claimed second overall, first lady home was Rachel Fenton.

Cameron Biddle (Solihull CC) was dominant in the youth race with under-14 team mates Toby Barnes and Lewis Askey (Lichfield City CC) fighting it out for second with Barnes just edging it.


Seniors/Veterans 40+
1 Luke Markham (Rugby Velo)
2 Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles)
3 Stephen Knight (Team Jewson) 1st Veteran
4 Andrew Tamplin (Bicicielo Birmingham)
5 Philip Hinch (Brotherton Cycles)
6 Chris Pedder (unattached)
7 Phil Blacker (Team Jewson) 2nd Veteran
8 Carl Dyson (Clay Cross RT)
9 James Garrett (Rugby Velo)
10 Chris Bradley (Zepnat)

Junior/Women/Veteran 50+
1 James Garrett (Welland Valley CC) 1st Junior
2 Peter Harris (Pearce Cycles RT) 1st Veteran 50+
3 Anthony Neave (Stourbridge CC)
4 Ian Wright (Dig Deep Coaching)
5 Harry Thompson (Leicester Off Road Club)
6 Peter Turner (Derby Mercury)
Woman: Rachel Fenton (unattached)

1 Cameron Biddle (Solihull CC)
2 Toby Barnes (Lichfield City CC) 1st under-14
3 Lewis Askey (Lichfield City CC)

Under-12 boy winner- Daniel Barnes (Lichfield City CC)
Under-12 girls winner- Josie Nelson (unattached)
Under-10 boys winner- Ben Askey (Lichfield City CC)
Under-10 girls winner- Daisy Rollason (Lichfield City CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.