Cross: Minter cruises to victory in Wessex League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Prospect Park, Reading, Berkshire
Event: 20 October 2013

Chris Minter (Pedal On) ran out winner on a horrible day of torrential rain and thunderstorms for the seventh round of the Wessex League in Reading.

This was Chris’s first ever win in the league - and he certainly picked a good day to do it.

Reading CC promoted the latest round of the league in Prospect Park just to the west of Reading close to the M4, the morning started dry for the under 12’s race but soon after that the heavens opened and the course soon cut up with several riders taking a tumble.

It was Michael Cotty (Wheelbase Cannondale) who set the early pace along with Chris as they opened out a large lead over Chris Atkins (Specialized). At mid-point Minter found his way past Cotty and set about building a lead of over one minute.

As the rain poured down large gaps appeared all over the course as it cut up forcing riders to pick different lines lap on lap. So at the bell Minter lead Cotty by over one minute and at the finish it had risen to 1min 35secs, Atkins was third over three minutes back.

The combined vet/junior/women’s race was also wet as it rained from start to finish and included a hail storm mid race just to add insult.

Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) was the first away and along with Mike Simpson (GS Henley) they were locked together for a few laps until Crispin attacked and opened a gap. Will Girvan was lying third but after only three laps he was over two minutes adrift.

Joseph Andrews (Fareham Wheelers) and first junior in the league was right up the front in fifth place. Joseph has won the first five rounds, only missing last week’s round to attend the National Trophy event in Wales.

He was strong all race and managed to get past Nick Walmsley (Cotswold Veldrijden) to take the junior crown and his best placed finish of the season. Tamina Oliver (Team CTC) was first women ahead of Claire Smith (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Anna Cipullo (Dame Cycling).

The youth race was a hard fought challenge between the usual three riders, as Ed Gronbech (Oxford City RC) eventually ran out winner as original leader Christopher Rothwell (SCRA) ran into trouble when his rear quick release came loose not once but twice as he tried to apply the pressure and get away.

The first time it happened Ed got past and the second time Elliott Lassiter (Cotswold Veldrijden) was close enough to capitalise. There were also wins for Holly Powell (Chapel tri Stars) in the under 14s, Emma Pitt (PPV) in the under 16s and Angus Hawkins (PPV) winning the under 14s boys race category. Rowan Turner (Poole Wheelers) was the first under 12s boy with Alexa Hawkins (PPV) the first girl.

Provisional Results

1st Chris Minter Pedal On 53mins 38secs
2nd Michael Cotty Wheelbase Cannondale @1min 35secs
3rd Chris Atkins Specialized @3mins 22secs
4th Daniel Drake VC Deal @3mins 42secs
5th Aaron Taylor Cotswold Veldrijden @3mins 50secs

1st Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles 40mins 35secs
2nd Mike Simpson GS Henley @42secs
3rd William Girvan NHRC @4mins 16secs
4th Joseph Andrews Fareham Wheelers @4mins 53secs
5th Nick Walmsley Cotswold Veldrijden @5mins 55secs

1st Tamina Oliver Team CTC
2nd Claire Smith Cotswold Veldrijden
3rd Anna Cipullo Dame Cycling

1st Joseph Andrews Fareham Wheelers
2nd Jack Saunders Cotswold Veldrijden
3rd Michael Ponzo Swindon RC

1st Ed Gronbech Oxford City RC 28mins 28secs
2nd Elliott Lassiter Cotswold Veldrijden @21secs
3rd Christopher Rothwell SCRA @42secs
4th Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden @2mins 32secs
5th Alex Cross @4mins 12secs

Under 14 Girls
1st Holly Powell Chapel Tri Stars
2nd Alderney Baker Southdown Velo
3rd Abbie Manley Chapel Tri Stars

Under 16 Girls
1st Emma Pitt PPV
2nd Rebecca Hurst Poole Wheelers

Under 14 Boys
1st Angus Hawkins PPV
2nd Erin Baker Southdown Velo
3rd Jay Allen PPV

Under 12 Boys
1st Rowan Turner Poole Wheelers
2nd Alexa Hawkins PPV
3rd Max Meadwell Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
4th Madeline Cooper Chapel Tri Stars
5th Jamie Gostick PPV

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.