Cross: Barnes takes first win of Yorkshire Points season

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Temple Newsham Park, Leeds
Event: 6 October 2013
Report: Clare Crabtree/Snowdon Sports
Photos: Clare Crabtree

Nick Barnes (Zepnat) took his first victory of this year’s Yorkshire Points with a comfortable win in Temple Newsham, Leeds.

The 19-year-old managed was joined by Dieter Droger (Scott) and Jack Clarkson (Hope Factory Racing) in a three-man break on the first lap.

The trio stuck together until three laps from the end when Barnes upped the ante and managed to get a 15-second gap on Droger. The gap continued to increase as Barnes pulled away to take victory by 27 seconds.

Droger, who won in the Notts and Derby League yesterday, was comfortable in second and finished a minute ahead of Jack Clarkson in third.

In the veteran race, Danny Alexander (Zepnat) cruised to victory after Pedalsport duo Mike Young and Tim Kershaw dominated the early stages.

In the end, Alexander had too much for Young and went on to win by 35 seconds. The challenge of Kershaw fell away and he finished out of the top ten.

Mark Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing) enjoyed a battle with Pete Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo) before finally getting away on the final lap to take top place in the veteran 50 category. Another Hope Factory rider, Annie Simpson was a comfortable winner in the women’s race.

Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes) and Robert Scott (East Bradford) worked well together to open up a gap at the front of the youth race. But the teamwork stopped on the last lap with some great technical riding from both riders. It came down to a sprint in the last 50 yards and Moses got the jump on Scott to take the win. Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing) won the youth girl's race.


1 Nick Barnes (Zepnat) 58:54
2 Dieter Droger (Scott) @27sec
3 Jack Clarkson (Hope Factory Racing) @1:36
4 Gareth Whitall (Clay Cross RT)
5 Jiri Klekner (Wheelspin Cycles)
6 Ben Cooper (Hargreaves cycles)
7 Andy Taylor (Jedi Cyclesport)
8 David Morris (Harrogate Nova)
9 James Dalton (Pedalsport)
10 Benny Pygot (Paul Milnes)


1 Danny Alexander (Zepnat) 48:39
2 Mike Young (Pedalsport) @35sec
3 Chris Young (Pedalsport) @52sec
4 Matt Denby (Jewson Sewell)
5 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport)
6 Steve Bottomley (Crosstrax)
7 John Hick (Holme Valey Wheelers)
8 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
9 Marcus Spencer (Hargreaves)
10 Robin Bradbury (Aire Valley RT)
Vet 50: Mark Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)
Lady: Annie Simpson (Hope Factory Racing)

1 Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes) 32:49
2 Robert Scott (East Bradford)
3 Harry Hardcastle (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
4 Euan Cameron (East Bradford)
5 Ben Turner (Dinnington RC)
Girl: Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.