Cross: Williams prevails at Welsh Championships

Cross: Williams prevails at Welsh Championships

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Royal Welsh Showground, Builth Wells
Event: 9 December 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Pictures: selection courtesy of David Bees

Lee Williams successfully defended his title in the Welsh Championships with a strong performance at the Royal Welsh Showground at Builth Wells on Sunday.

The 28-year-old from near Pontypridd lapped all but one of his rivals in the senior race, and was 4:13 ahead of second-placed Jonathan Pugh, the Cycle-Tec rider from Llandridod Wells.

Even Williams’ former team-mate at Team Wiggle Ben Simmons was caught in the closing stages of the race, while Pugh led in Cycle-Tec to the team prize alongside colleagues James Nixon and David Evans.

Dry but muddy conditions made for a thrilling race in Builth Wells. Image: David Bees

Junior talent Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders) was fastest female, crossing the line ahead of veteran Sarah Barnwell (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy).

Second last year, Adam King (Cardiff JIF) went one better this year with victory in the junior race. And the 2011 youth winner, Dylan Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos on Sea CC) continued his remarkable development with second place in the youth race.

Images: David Bees

The event was held in the heart of the Welsh countryside on the site of the famous Royal Welsh Showground, courtsey of John Lloyd MBE, members of MTB-Marathon and Liz Slater.

A special feature of the day included two exciting youth support races which preceeded the day's events, with credible performances from Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing Team) and Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders) in the U10 race.

A twisty course with a gentle climb also challenged the U8s in a fun race, with Garan Jones and Awen Roberts (both Towy Riders) clinching the win. 

Welsh Cycling extends thanks to John Lloyd MBE, members of MTB Marathon, Liz Slater, Cyclopeadia, and all the volunteers who supported the event.


1 Lee Williams (unattached)
2 Jonathan Pugh (Cycle-Tec) @ 4:13
3 Ben Simmons (Team Wiggle) @ 1 lap
4 James Nixon (Cycle-Tec)
5 Andrew Parry (
6 Grant Leavy (Cycle Coaching Wales)
7 Lee Davies (
8 Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon)
9 Adrian Peall (Forza Cycles)
10 Ken Evans (

Team: Cycle-Tec (Jonathan Pugh, James Nixon, David Evans)

Vet 40:
1 Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF) V40
2 Tim Davies (CC Abergavenny) V40
3 Mark Spratt (Cardiff JIF) V40

Vet 50:
1 Ian Evans (unattached) V50
2 Graham Edwards (Abergavenny RC)
3 Paul Bennett (Cardiff JIF)

Vet 60:
1 John Lloyd (
2 Mike Davies (unattached)

1 Adam King (Cardiff JIF)
2 Dylan Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos on Sea CC)
3 Daniel Colman (West Wales Cycle Racing Team)

1 Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders) J
2 Sarah Barnwell (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy) V
3 Laura Williams (Cardiff JIF) S

Youth U16:
1 Nicholas Jones (Towy Riders CC)
2 Joe Barnwell (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy)
3 Hefin Evans (Towy Riders)

Youth U16 Girls: Tanwen Jones (Towy Riders).

Youth U14:
1 Tomos Nesham (Newport Velo)
2 Sol Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos on Sea CC)
3 Tomos Owens (Brooks Cycles)

Youth U14 Girls:
1 Jessica Roberts (Towy Riders)
2 Megan James (Abergavenny RC)
3 Elizabeth Bennett (Cardiff JIF)

U12 Boys:
1 Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
2 Huw Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC)
3 Guto Dafydd (Towy Riders)

U12 Girls:
1 Nicole Clarke (Port Sunlight Wheelers)
2 Eluned King (Towy Riders)
3 Elynor Backstedt (Maindy Flyers)

U10 Boys:
1 Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing Team)
2 Griff Lewis (West Wales Cycle Racing Team)
3 Iolo Dafydd (Towy Riders)

U10 Girls:
1 Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders)
2 Isabelle Bennett (Cardiff JIF)
3 Heledd Hunt (Towy Riders)

U8 Boys:
1 Garan Jones (Towy Riders)
2 Oscar Davies (unattached)
3 Xavier Teece-Round (Ystwyth CC)

U8 Girls:
1 Awen Roberts (Towy Riders)
2 Freya Evans (Towy Riders)
3 Bethany Bennett (Towy Riders)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.