Healthspan Elite gels

Cross: Womersley takes first Yorkshire Points win of the season

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Thornes Park, Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Event: 23 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photos: Ray Stuart and Claire Crabtree

Junior cyclist Jake Womersley (Altura Sportscover) took his first win of this season in the Yorkshire Points with a convincing ride in Wakefield.

Nick Barnes ( RT) made an aggressive start to the 12-lap race and was in the lead temporarily until 16-year-old Womersley took charge and made his pass.

Rob Watson moved up to second and managed to build up a lead of around five seconds over Dirt Wheels team-mate Simon Maudsley before Maudsley caught him up and overtook him in the woods.

Watson subsequently started to fall back and was eventually overtaken by Andrew Stuart of Nottingham Clarion to leave him fourth. But it was easy for Womersley at the front and he took the win by 46 seconds.

In the veteran race, Ian Taylor (Craven Energy) made it four out of four as he continues to look unbeatable in this category.

In previous weeks Taylor has entered both the senior and veteran races but this week he elected to only enter the latter.

At the start of the race, Taylor and Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) stayed together and Chris Taylor (Pedalsport) also managed to compete.

With two laps to go, Ian Taylor made a dig and opened a 5-second gap over Clough. Lap after lap, the gap grew until it was 23 seconds by the time he crossed the finish line.

Chris Taylor suffered mechanical problems but managed to recover some of the lost ground and finished a respectable sixth.

Chris Barnes( RT) is another rider who has shown dominance in his category, winning all three of the previous races in the Yorkshire Points.

This week, it looked as though he may have a challenger as Jamie Ridelhalgh (Airedale Chemicals) lead for a the first three laps of the five lap race.

But Barnes kept his cool, catching and overtaking his opponent to take the win.


1 Jake Womersley (Altura Sportscover) 1:03:00
2 Simon Maudsley (Dirt Wheels) @ 46 seconds
3 Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:16
4 Rob Watson (Dirt Wheels)
5 Joshua Keep (Alpha Wheels)
6 Nick Barnes ( RT)
7 Benny Pygott (Paul Milnes Cycles)
8 Kyle Burleigh (Nottingham Clarion)
9 Andy Johnson (Yorkshire Velo)
10 Bruce Dalton (Kinesis)
First junior:
Jake Womersley (Altura Sportscover)
1 Ian Taylor (Craven Energy) 41:58
2 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) @ 23 seconds
3 Chris Young Pedalsport) @ 1:29
4 Andy Peace (FIS)
5 John Hick (Holme Valley Wheelers)
6 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport)
7 Jough Watson (Charge)
8 Mike Young (Pedalsport)
9 Matt Denby (Team Jewson)
10 Seth Smith (Paul Milnes Cycles)
First lady:
Nicola Butler (Pedalsport)
1 Chris Barnes ( RT)
2 Jamie Ridelhalgh (Airedale Chemicals)
3 Tom Seaman (Wakefield Junior Tri)
4 Jack Fillingham (Pedalsport
5 Robert Scott (East Bradford)
First girl:
Amira Mellor (Holme Valley Wheelers)
Under 14:
Jamie Ridelhalgh (Airedale Chemicals)
Under 12:
1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport)
2 Finn Cooper (Kirklees Cycle Academy)
3 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees Cycle Academy)
First girl:
Ava Oxley (Wakefield Junior Tri)
Under 10:
1 Cameron Branford (Wakefield Junior Tri)
2 Tony Sheard (Kirklees Cycle Academy)
3 Tom Scott (Sheffield Star Wheelers)
First girl:
Ellie Armstrong (Wakefield Junior Tri)
Under 8:
1 Ben Hodgson (Holme Valley Wheelers)
2 Henry Parkin (Wakefield Junior Tri)
3 Oliver Hick (unattached)
First girl:
Amber Ford (unattached)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.