Cross: Back-to-back wins for Baum in Welsh League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Risca Leisure Centre, Caerphilly
Event: 23 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Andrew Baum made it two wins out of two in the Welsh League with a magnificent ride in Caerphilly.

The rain had made for a very wet and slippery Risca Leisure Centre course where entrants faced 12 laps of racing in difficult conditions.

Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon) went to the front on the second lap and steadily extended his lead over junior Adam King (Cardiff JIF).

By the time the 37-year-old reached the finish, he had built the gap to 43 seconds to take his second win of the series. Adam King was second and placed first junior.

But not all of the standings were as clear cut, further back there was a race-long battle for third between Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny), David Thomas ( and Jonathan Pugh (Cycletec).

David Thomas was strong enough to hold of the challenge of his two rivals and managed to snatch the final podium place at the death.

Mark James was the quickest of the veterans, Paula Moseley (Climb On Bikes) was first lady and Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC) won the youth race.

First under 16 girl was Tanwen Jones (Towy Riders), under 14 boy was Ioan Thomas and under 14 girl was won by Jessica Roberts.

In the under 12 boy category, Owain Roberts (Towy Riders) prevailed and in the girls, it was Elynor Backstedt (Maindy Flyers) who topped the podium.

Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing) and Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders) won the under 10 boys and girls respectively.

Finally, in the under 8s, Jack Hastings (unattached) was first boy and Evelyn Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC) was top girl.


1 Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon) 12 laps in 51.11
2 Adam King (Cardiff JIF) @ 43 secs
3 David Thomas ( @ 1.07
4 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny)
5 Jonathan Pugh (Cycletec)
6 Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon)
7 Mark Davies (Cycle Coaching Wales)
8 William Worrall (TRCC)
9 Andrew Parry (Urban Cyclery)
10 Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing)
Adam King
Mark James
Paula Moseley (Climb On Bikes)
1 Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC)
2 Jessica Roberts (Towy Riders)
3 Harry Lock (Cardiff Ajax)
4 Jared Brooks (Abergavenny RC)
5 Ioan Thomas (Towy Riders)
U16 Girl:
Tanwen Jones (Towy Riders)
U14 Boy:
Ioan Thomas
U14 Girl:
Jessica Roberts
U12 Boy:
Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
U12 Girl:
Elynor Backstedt (Maindy Flyers)
U10 Boy:
Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
U10 Girl:
Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders)
U8 Boy:
Jack Hastings (unattached)
U8 Girl:
Evelyn Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.