Cyclo-Cross: Fletcher shows his class at Hardwick Hall

Home » Cyclo-cross

Olympic Podium Programme rider David Fletcher (Orange Monkey-Cannondale) dominated the opening round of the Notts & Derby League which attracted a record entry of 330 riders to Hardwick Hall.

With more mud on the course than usual for the start of September, the event gave the series a perfect launch as 23-year-old Fletcher, from Edwinstone, continued his preparations for the World Mountain Bike Championships by powering round the five laps in 48-12 to finish nearly two minutes clear of under-23 Jack Clarkson (Hope

Factory Racing).

Dieter Droger (Ditrtwheels Cycles) was a further half a minute back in third place with last season’s overall champion, Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) starting his defence in eighth position.


1 David Fletcher (Orange Monkey-Cannondale) 48-12
2 Jack Clarkson (Hope Factory Racing) at 1-49
3 Dieter Groger (Dirtwheels) at 2-17
4 Matt Barrett (Go Run & Ride) at 2-51
5 Ben Eedy (Empella at 3-24
6 Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) at 3-34
7 Nathan Miller (Buzz Cycles) at 3-42
8 Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) at 3-49
9 James Furniss ( same time
10 Gareth Whithall (Clay Cross RT) at 4-25
Jack Clarkson.
Gregory Dighton (Beacon RCC).
Dan Cook (Planet X).
Chris Green (Matlock CC).
Mick Perrin (Ashfield RC).
Pete Harris (BC Private Member).
Mick McDermott (Heanor Clarion).
Terry Taylor (Matlock CC).
John Dowell (Heanor Clarion)
1 Jane Roberts (Lincoln VC)
2 Sarah Naylor (Fossa Racing)
3 Maz Heffron (Matlock CC)
4 Phoebe Sneddon (Mule Bar Girls)
5 Sarah Kennedy
Jane Roberts.
Chloe Astle (South Pennine RC)
1 William Gascoigne (Matlock CC) 27-34
2 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) at 21 sec
3 Gregg Booker (Matlock CC) at 1-55
4 Arthur Green (Matlock CC) at 2-25
5 Josh Waters (Mercia CC) at 3-02
6 Elliot Dudley (Sherwood Pines) at 3-49
Josh Waters
Under-16 girls:
Sara Lomas (Matlock CC)
Under-14 girls:
Ffyona Booker (Matlock CC)
1 Jenson Young (Pedal Sport CC) 12-47
2 Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC) at 26 sec
3 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) at 28 sec
4 Tim Elsmore (Matlock CC) at 30 sec
5 Lewis Rivers (Nottingham Clarion) at 33 sec
6 James Luscombe (Derby Mercury RC) at 37 sec
Poppy Wildman
1 Christopher Hilbert (VC Lincoln) 6-36
2 Finlay Stott (Matlock CC) at 3 sec
3 Johnny Pickering (One and All) at 14 sec
Harriet Limb (Matlock CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.