Cross: Martin edges to North East League win

Cross: Martin edges to North East League win

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Chances Park, Carlisle, Cumbria
Event: 18 December 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Top junior rider Adam Martin (Cestria Cycles) won the tenth round of the North East League at Chances Park, Carlisle, Cumbria on Sunday.

The 17-year-old Durham-based rider crossed the line 19 seconds ahead of his nearest rival at the end of the eight-lap senior event after a race-long battle with second-placed Steven Ward (MTS Cyclesport).

The pair were together for much of the race and always trying to outfox the other, but Martin finally managed to jump clear on the last lap and take the win alone.

Ward was comfortably second, while Hope Factory Racing’s Darlington-based rider Keith Murray spent most of the race in no man’s land, crossing the line just over two minutes behind Martin in third.

The battle for fourth was an epic, with Kenny Haswell prevailing over his Black Hawk Bikes team-mate Colin Ash by just one second.

VC Cumbria’s Keith Ashbridge was top over-40, while Bev Blakeman (Infinity Cycles) was the fastest of the women.

Like most events up and down the country, the North East League presented riders with cold but dry conditions and a firm surface, although some muddy sections did enough to keep the riders on their toes throughout.


1 Adam Martin (Cestria Cycles) 56:08
2 Steven Ward (MTS Cyclesport) @ 19sec
3 Keith Murray (Hope Factory Racing) @ 2:14
4 Kenny Haswell (Black Hawk Bikes) at 3:07
5 Colin Ash (Black Hawk Bikes) at 3:08
6 Alan Nixon (Black Hawk Bikes) @ 4:24
7 Keith Ashbridge (VC Cumbria) 4:54
8 Gary McRae (Leslie Bike Shop)
9 Tony Glover (Derwentside CC)
10 Kenny Johnson (Science in

Over-40s: Keith Ashbridge. Over-50s: Bob Murdoch (Teesdale CRC). Over-60s: Dave McLean (Hetton Hawks). Women: Bev Blakeman (Infinity Cycles).

1 Stephen Lee (Hetton Hawks) 31:06
2 Matthew Worton (Hetton Hawks) @ same time
3 James Edmond (Ferryhill Wheelers) @ 1:14
4 Alex Foster (Border City Wheelers) @ 2:23
5 Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix) @ 2:25
6 Thomas Mein (MTS Cyclesport)
Under-14s: Jake Dobson. Girls: Henrietta Colborne (Beacon Wheelers).

1 Matthew Eggleston (Beacon Wheelers)
2 Ben Dowson (Hettonm Hawks)
3 Hamish Donnelly (Beacon Wheelers)
Under-10s: Hamish Donnelly. Girls: Enya Stoves (unattached).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.