Report: 2011 Scottish Cyclo-Cross Championships

Report: 2011 Scottish Cyclo-Cross Championships

Home » Cyclo-cross

More images by Nick Tryon here

Around 240 riders of all ages lined up for the Scottish Cyclo-cross Championship on Sunday. The championships promoted by George Buchanan of Alite Telephone Systems and the Glasgow United Cycling Club took place at Clydebank’s Auchentoshan Estate.

The organisers were very pleased to welcome West Dunbartonshire MP Gemma Doyle to present the winning medals to the riders in the under 12 category. GUCC members and friends put in a sterling effort over the weekend to prepare for Sunday’s event.

The first of 4 races started at 10am with the under 12 category taking to the start line for a 15 minute race on a challenging short course circuit around the finishing arena. This proved a hard fought affair for the young guns with a tough muddy climb through the trees seeing many riders struggle in the wet conditions under foot.

Next up was the Youth race, which saw the youngsters venture out onto the larger loop through the trees high above Dalmuir. The riders enjoyed this larger loop, which included hurdles, fast gravel sections, a decent down to a stream crossing and a tough climb on the opposite side. West Dunbartonshire had experienced it’s wettest spell for 25 year prior to the event and this was apparent as the grass sections quickly deteriorated.

Blue sky made a brief appearance and the sun warmed the juniors, women and vets lined up on the start grid for race 3. The fine spell of weather did not last though as clouds and sleet rolled in by the end of lap 3. By this time the going was getting extremely soft under wheels with many of the competitors finding it easier to run with bikes rather than ride through the muddy sections.

Finally the senior men lined up at 1pm for the last race of the day. Scotlands best Cyclo-cross racers battled each other and the conditions in a tough race with the medal positions changed hands several times over the 60 minute duration. Spectators cheered the riders around the course with the sound of cow bells and live commentary from Jammy Johnston adding to the atmosphere. At the line the selection had been made, Gareth Montgomery of GT Racing UK came out on top with Dan Whitehead - Ballater X and Dave Henderson also of GT Racing UK taking 2nd and 3rd steps on the podium.


Under 12 Championship [Girls & Boys Combined]

1st Sean Flynn Edinburgh RC
2nd Cameron Mason West Lothian Clarion CC
3rd Jamie Johnstone Glasgow Riderz

Under 14 Boys Championship Placings

1st Joseph Nally
2nd Calum Fernie Edinburgh RC
3rd Calum Grant Peebles CC

Under 14 Girls Championship Placings

1st Emma Borthwick Edinburgh RC
2nd Lulu Bartlett Edinburgh RC
3rd Rhona Callander Edinburgh RC

Under 16 Boys Championship Placings

1st Hamish Carrick Edinburgh RC
2nd Sean Noon Edinburgh RC
3rd Harry Johnston Glasgow Riderz

Under 16 Girls Championship Placings

1st Isla Short Peebles CC
2nd Erika Allen Stirling Bike Club
3rd Wenna Hastings Get Löst Cöllective

Women's Championship Placings

1st Eileen Roe Team Leslie Bike Shop – Right Move Windows
2nd Ruth Fraser-Moodie Pedal Power RT
3rd Maddie Robinson Velo Club Moulin

Junior Male Championship Placings

1st Iain Paton Square Wheels Cycles
2nd Stuart Wilcox Innerleithen MTB Racing / i-Cycles
3rd Tom Arnstein Equipe Velo Ecosse / Montpelliers

Vet Male 40+ Championship Placings

1st Gary McRae Team Leslie Bike Shop – Right Move Windows
2nd John McCarrery Team Leslie Bike Shop – Right Move Windows
3rd Gordon Traynor Spokes Racing Team

Vet Male 50+ Championship Placings

1st Gregor Grant Square Wheels Cycles
2nd Graham Gauld Deeside Thistle CC
3rd Robert Bloor Edinburgh RC

Senior Male Championship Placings

1st Gareth Montgomery GT Racing UK
2nd Dan Whitehead Ballater X
3rd Dave Henderson GT Racing UK