Cross: Booth wins Notts and Derby R10

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: National Water Sports Centre, Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham
Event: 19 November 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Cult Racing’s Dan Booth secured a convincing win in the tenth round of the SRAM Notts and Derby League, staged at the National Water Sports Centre, Holme Pierrepont, in Nottingham on Saturday.

The 31-year-old from Market Bosworth in Leicestershire usually riders West Midlands League events, but headed over to Nottingham on Saturday to get in some extra preparation ahead of Sunday’s West Midlands round.

He crossed the line 2-07 ahead of his nearest rivals, with Andrew Stuart (TFN Tri Club) and Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) battling it out for second place, a battle which 28-year-old Stuart won by a few inches to secure his best finish to a Notts and Derby League event this season.

Matt Sumpton (Zepnat RT) was best of the Under-23s in seventh spot, but close behind him was Lawrence Frost, only 15 seconds behind in eighth overall.

Matt Denby (Zepnat RT) was the best of the veterans in tenth place, while Yorkshire Series regular Mike Young (Pedalsport CC) was not far behind in 12th, 51 seconds behind Denby, as he got in some extra preparation ahead of Sunday’s Yorkshire event at Myrtle Park in Bingley.

Matlock CC’s Arthur Green secured a narrow victory in the youth race, beating VC Rutland rival Oliver Maxwell by just 2 seconds, while Derby Mercury’s Tom Weeds was third, another 54 seconds behind.

Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) was first under-14, fourth overall and just 1-23 behind his older team-mate Green.

And Matlock CC were also celebrating victory in the Under-12s race, with John Webster taking the win by just four seconds from Pedalsport CC’s Jenson Young, another rider who had made the journey down from Yorkshire in search of action on Saturday.


1 Dan Booth (Cult Racing) 54:24
2 Andrew Stuart (TFN Tri) @ 2:07
3 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) @ same time
4 Ben Eedy (Empella) @ 2:22
5 Andy Naylor (Ashfield RC) @ 2:34
6 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT) @ 2:48
7 Matt Sumpton (Zepnat RT) @ 3:02
8 Lawrence Frost (Ashfield RC) @ 3:17
9 James Furniss (Zepnat RT)
10 Matt Denby (Zepnat RT) all @ same time
Under-23s: Matt Sumpton. Veterans: Matt Denby. Women: Diane Lee (Zapnat RT). Juniors: James Peckover (Nottingham Clarion).

1 Arthur Green (Matlock CC) 22:47
2 Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland) @ 2sec
3 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) @ 56sec
4 Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) @ 1:23
5 Will Perrett (Heanor Clarion) @ same time
6 Gabriel Bird (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:57
Girls: Sian Botteley (Bourne Wheelers). Under-14s: Will Gascoyne. Under-14 girls: Eve Lyon (Nottingham Clarion).

1 John Webster (Matlock CC) 14:02
2 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC) @ 4sec
3 James Swadling (Nottingham Clarion) @ 20sec
4 Oliver Snodden (unattached) @ 35sec
5 James Luscombe (Derby Mercury RC) @ 55sec
6 George Swindell (Matlock CC) @ 1:05
Girls: Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion).

1 Ben Chilton (Derby Mercury RC) 8:53
2 Matthew Luscombe (Derby Mercury RC) @ 3sec
3 Josh Giddings (Heanor Clarion) @ 36sec
Girls: Elizabeth Webster (Matlock CC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.