Cross: Geluykens wins Notts and Derby R8

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Rosliston Forestry Centre, Burton on Trent
Event: 29 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Belgian visitor Kenny Geluykens (Asfra Racing Team) won the latest round of the Notts and Derby League staged at Rosliston Forestry Centre in Burton on Trent on Saturday.

Crossing the line almost two minutes ahead of his nearest rival, Geluykens proved a convincing winner in the eighth round of the series, which was promoted by Mercia CC at a new venue.

Geluykens, who was to finish fourth in the National Trophy in Leicester on Sunday, crossed the line 1-52 ahead of Ashfield Road Club’s Andy Naylor, while Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) was another 12 seconds off the pace in third.

With many league regulars choosing not to take part and save themselves for the National Trophy, there were some new faces on the podiums.

Mammoth Lifestyle’s William Penn was best under-23, while Geoff Giddings (Zepnat RT) was top veteran.

Lloyds Cycles rider William Chavey was fastest of the youth riders, but he was just two seconds ahead of league regular Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury), while third-placed Will Perrett (Heanor Clarion) was almost a minute and a half off the pace and just ahead of team-mate and leading Under-14 rider William Gascoyne.


1 Kenny Geluykens (Asfra, Belgium) 52:54
2 Andy Naylor (Ashfield RC) @ 1:52
3 Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) @ 2:04
4 James Thompson (Boneshakers) @ 2:20
5 Lee Shunburne (Matlock CC) @ 2:32
6 Andrew Stuart (TFN Tri Club) @ 2:37
7 James Furniss (Zepnat RT) @ 2:40
8 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) @ 2:54
9 Gareth Newitt (RST Racing Team) @ 3:50
10 William Penn (Mammoth Lifestyle) @ same time
Under-23s: William Penn (Mammoth Lifestyle) Veterans: Geoff Giddings (Zepnat RT). Women: Tracey Fletcher (VC Long Eaton). Juniors: Toby Fletcher (VC Long Eaton).

1 William Chavey (Lloyds Cycles) 28:54
2 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) @ 2sec
3 Will Perrett (Heanor Clarion) @ 1:29
4 William Gascoyne (Heanor Clarion) @ same time
5 Oliver Arnoux (Derby Mercury RC) @ 1:59
6 Bailey Waters (Plan B Racing) @ 2:06
Under-14s: William Gascoyne. Girls: Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC). Under-14 girls: Isobelle Boon (Belper BC).

1 James Swadling (Nottingham Clarion) 15:08
2 John Webster (Matlock CC) @ 3sec
3 Matthew Shaw (Solihull CC) @ 10sec
Girl: Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion).

1 Ben Chiltern (Derby Mercury RC) 7:36
2 Mathew Luscombe (Derby Mercury RC) @ same time
3 Josh Giddings (Heanor Clarion) @ 29sec
Girls: Libby Smith (Matlock CC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.