Cross: Cotton wins again in Lincolnshire

Home » Cyclo-cross

│ │ │
Location: Quibell Park, Scunthorpe
Event: 23 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Maintaining his 100 per cent record in the Lincolnshire League and Lincolnshire Championship, Mark Cotton (Bycka Sport Racing) secured another victory in the latest round staged around the Quibell Park track in Scunthorpe on Sunday.

Cotton, 25 and from Lincoln, took victory on the day despite a mix-up earlier in the day which saw him forget his shoes and have to drive back to Lincoln to collect the required kit, but thankfully he had left enough time to make the journey.

Adorned with the proper kit, Cotton hit the front on the first lap. VC Lincoln’s Jon Wells and Sleaford Wheelers’ George Thompson led the early exchanges, but Cotton was soon at the front of the race and looking strong.

By half distance he had opened up a lead of around 40 seconds on junior Thompson, while Wells was about 20 seconds further back. But Thompson’s chain jammed and he was forced to run back to the pits for his spare bike, which dropped him back to seventh spot.

He powered back to take third spot, but couldn’t challenge Wells, who crossed the finish line 20 seconds ahead of his young rival, while Cotton had taken the victory by 1-25.

In the veterans there was a three-way battle between Graham Clark (Time RT), Davie Perry (Gabby Day Racing) and Duncan Walmsley (Zepnat RT), and while Walmsley eventually dropped back, Clarke and Perry battled on, with Clarke just edging to victory by four seconds in fourth overall.


1 Mark Cotton (Bycka Sport Racing)51:19
2 George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) @ 1:25
3 Jon Wells (VC Lincoln) @ 1:45
4 Graham Clark (Time RT) @ 1:48
5 David Perry (Gabby Day Racing) @ 1:52
6 Duncan Walmsley (Zepnat RT) @ 2:31
7 Darryl Hewson (Alford Wheelers) @ 2:38
8 Mark Preston (VC Lincoln) @ 3:28
9 Jordan Gell (VC Lincoln) @ 3:30
10 Peter Fielding-Smith (Richardsons RT) @ 3:52
Juniors: George Thompson. Veterans: Graham Clark. Over-50s: Mervyn Dudley (Sherwood Pines). Over-60s: Terry Beisty (Scunthorpe Poly CC). Women: Diane Lee (Zepnat RT).

1 Henry Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) 24:20
2 Tim James (Bourne Wheelers)
3 Elliott Dudley (Sherwood Pines)
4 Campbell Pollock (Bourne Wheelers)
5 Max Williamson (Lincsquad)
6 Sam Bentley (Spalding CC)
Under-14s: Tim James. Girls: Sian Botteley (Bourne Wheelers).

1 Jake Norton (Spalding CC) 17:00
2 Matthew Ellis (Spalding CC) @ 1sec
3 Robert McAndrew (Spalding CC) @ 1:15
Girls: Abigail Armstrong (VC Lincoln).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.