'Cross: Denby Wins Winter League 1

'Cross: Denby Wins Winter League 1

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Supermarine Rugby Club, Swindon
Event: 6 September 2011

The GWR Team Floodlit Winter Cross League series started with the largest field yet, as 48 riders lined up for the first race of a ten race series, making a strong starting sprint all the more important.

Earlier in the day there had been the typical winter cross weather of heavy showers, but due to the circuit being based around the well drained rugby pitches of Supermarine, the course remained hard packed and fast.

Leading the field into the first of the woodland sections was Weston Summer Series winner Dan Smith who took the hole shot and led the field for the first half lap. As the riders hit the main drag through to the finish line, for the first completed lap, Paul Lloyd led, with Dan Lewis and Matt Denby in contact, the latter two riders starting slowly from the back from the grid, making their way to the head of the race.

With 15 minutes to go, Denby had built up a sizable lead to take the first win of the series making the most of an advantage over Lewis that he held until the finish line. Lloyd came home in a conformable third.

The second round of the 10 race series will be held next Tuesday 13 September and with the best of 7 counting.

For full race results please go to www.gwrteam.com.


1. Matt Denby Zepnap RT 
2. Dan  Lewis RAF
3. Paul  Lloyd Banjo Cycles
4. Scot Easter Felt Colbornes
5. Matt  Woods Swindon RC
6. Matt Hargroves Hargrove Cycles
7. Peter  Kench GWR Team
8. G Bate MJS Racing
9. Dan  Smith GWR Team
10. Harvey Lowe Hargrove Cycles
11. Andy  Roberts Evans
12. David Barnaice Felt Colbornes
13. Simon Edward Parton Kingston Wheelers
14. Jason  Blann Team Rose Blann
15. Joe Griffiths Dream CC
16. Kevin  Blann Team Striking bike
17. Tony Davis Dream Zero G
18. Micheal Holborow Swindon RC
19. John Trevains
20. Lee King Beeline RT
21. Peter  Hutchinson Swindon RC
22. Jason Marrot Army
23. N Buckingham
24. Andy  Gardener Team Striking bike
25. Deacon Gillingham VCB
26. David Lee Epic Cycles RT
27. DuncAN Mellish Zappis
28. Jeremy Redford ACU
29. Simon Tarrant Cheltenhamm= CC
30. Patrick Alexander Cheltenham & County CC
31. Jonathan  Wickham GWR Team
32. Mark  Letters Banjo Cycles
33. Jason Hopsoon
34. Paul  Loosemore Team Striking bike
35. Clair Galloway Team Zappis
36. Matt Antrobus
37. Niall Ingleby Gloucester City CC
38. Paul Burnip Coriunium CC
39. S McGeoghegagan
40. Steve Avery Team Zappis