Elite League: Horspath win at Ipswich

Home » Cycle speedway

Event: 6 October 2013
Location: Ipswich Cycle Speedway, Whitton Sports and Community Centre, Ipswich
Report: Sharon Stant

The Elite League reached its final climax of the season with all still to ride for with Poole's visit to unbeaten Sheffield on home soil and Horspath travelling to the ever improving Ipswich, both matches had the potential of being banana skins to the two outstanding teams this season.

Ipswich were looking to sign off their season with a good performance against the holders but got off to the worst possible start with an tape exclusion in the first heat handing the visitors an early chance to take a hold of the match.

Horspath duly accepted with a 7-2 then served out notice they meant business with heat advantages in the following three heats; 7-3 plus two 6-4s leaving the home team with a mountain to climb. Ipswich stemmed the tide in heat five with a shared heat before going on to claim heat six 6-3 after Zac Payne was excluded. Horspath's reponse was to score a maximum 7-3 in the next heat then heat nine was shared leaving the home team eleven points down at the break.

The second half started with a shared heat then heat eleven brought more success to the home team when Boaler moved at the tapes and Ipswich took full advantage with a 7-2, which was remarkable with Chittock making sure Nowacki was relegated to the back.

Chittock held off the attentions of the current World Champion and suddenly Ipswich were within six points of the Champions. However Horspath steadied the ship with a drawn heat in twelve before then going on to put the match to bed with heat advantages in the following two heats to open up that twelve point gap once again allowing then to see out the rest of the match and run out comfortable winners.


Elite League

Ipswich 78: Joshua Brooke 13, Adam Peck 11, Ashley Hill 11, Jamie Chittock 11,
Charlie Rumbold 9, Leon Mower 9, Richard Fellgett 9, Matthew Hill 5.

Horspath 96: Lukasz Nowacki 18, Mark Carmichael 16, Mattuez Szymczak 14,
Jack Harrold 13, Mark Boaler 13, Zac Payne 10, Wayne Hutt 7, Dave Carmichael 5.

Referee: Mike Legge (Dorset)


Ipswich 75: Matthew Hill 15 , Richard Fellgett 13 , Fraser Harris 13 , Ben Harvey 13 ,
Pierce Bacon 9, Lauren Jacobs 8 , Alex Harvey 4 .

Horspath 54 . Jordan Richardson 13 , George Horsley 11, Lee Clarke 10 , Andy Johnson 8,
Wayne Clarke 7 , Owen Johnson 5 .plus 14 penalty points .