Speedway: Pollitt wins in Manchester League Under 16 Individual Championship

Home » Cycle speedway

Manchester Under 10s and Under 16s Individuals
Location: Astley, Manchester
Event: 4 September 2013
Report: Mike Hack/Snowdon Sports

Astley and Tyldesley hosted the under 10 and under 16 Manchester League Individual Championships under the Gin Pit floodlights.

There was a small field for the under 16s event but racing was keenly contested throughout. Stockport's Connor Simpson and Astley and Tyldesley’s Reece Pollitt set the pace, winning their opening three races apiece.

The deciding race was heat 11, when Pollitt pulled out one of his trademark fast gates from grid three to clear Simpson and pull away to take the win and complete his maximum score with Simpson taking runner-up.

The previous race had decided third place, when Bury trio James Elston, Danny Taylor and Adam Watson had all lined up in that order on 10 points each. Elston raced away to take the win and third place overall, with Watson passing Taylor.

Thirteen riders lined up for the under 10 championships, including eight from Astley & Tyldesley. Unsurprisingly, the more experienced riders dominated proceedings.

Bury's Tom Whitwam won with a 20 points maximum, closely followed by Stockport's James Barry on 19 and Astley & Tyldesley’s Matthew Snell on 18.

There were some impressive performances from the lesser experienced riders, with Astley & Tyldesley’s Ben Dickinson and Emily Burgess riding really well to score 16 apiece, with newcomer Joe Quarmby scoring 15 alongside Bury's more experienced Louis Turner.


Manchester League Under 16 Individual Championship:
Reece Pollitt (A&T) 16, Connor Simpson (Stockport) 15, James Elston (Bury) 14, Adam Watson (Bury) 13, Danny Taylor (Bury) 12, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 11, Liam Briggs (A&T) 10.

Manchester League Under 10 Individual Championship:
Tom Whitwam (Bury) 20, James Barry (Stockport) 19, Matthew Snell (A&T) 18, Ben Dickinson (A&T) 16, Emily Burgess (A&T) 16, Louis Turner (Bury) 15, Joe Quarmby (A&T) 15, John White (A&T) 13, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 12, Daniel Miller (Bury) 11, Charlie Dickinson (A&T) 10, Dylan Paulden (A&T) 9, Duncan Whalley (Bury) 8.

Please credit www.britishcycling.org.uk and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.