Ipswich knock Bury out of British Team Championships

Home » Cycle speedway

Event: 16 June 2013
Location: Bury Cycle Speedway Club
Report: John Whiting

Bury’s interest in the British Team Championships ended on Sunday after a comprehensive Home defeat to Ipswich.

The visitors arrived without two of their top riders in Peck and Williamson, with Bury looking to make a close match of it and perhaps a shock victory. Referee Al Bentley called riders to the line for race 1, a fine win for Chris Paris, race 2 and good work from Jamson and Howarth drew the race, and a close match did look to be on the cards.

A fine pass from Jaime Chittock on Whittaker gave the visitors the lead, Chris Osborne picking up the third. The next 3 races decided the match really, Bury’s top riders Parish and Whittaker received gate exclusions, to give away 7-2 race wins to the visitors with Lewis Osborne and Fellgate gaining a 6-4.

Two further well worked heat wins to the visitors and at the interval Ipswich lead by 18 points 53 to 35 and the match result was in no doubt. Louis Roberts, Ashley Hill and Lewis Osborne won races at will for the visitors backed up by some excellent team riding from all the visiting riders.

Bury’s only response was a consolation drawn heat if such a thing exists. A final 7-3 from Chris and Lewis Osborne sealed a convincing win 108 to 66 for Ipswich. Excellent performances from Ashley Hill; Lewis Roberts and Lewis Osborne to drop just a single point between them, Chris Osborne and Richard Fellgate were great support.


Bury 66: Chris Parish 13 Kristian Ramsden 7 Neil Howarth 8, Luke Jamson 7, Steve Whittaker 9, Joe Allan 8, Paul Dyson 4, Will Owens 10

Ipswich 108: Charlie Rumbold 10 Lewis Osborne 18 Leon Mower 6 Lewis Roberts 20 Chris Osborne 11 Jaime Chittock 13 Ashley Hill 18 Richard Fellgate 12

Referee Al Bentley

Full Results from the weekend's British Team Championships Knockout Rounds

Bury 66 Ipswich 103
Exeter 73 Horspath 103
Hethersett 79 Sheffield 97
Hull 75 Poole 103
Newport 116 Norwich 59
Southampton 75 Wednesfield 103
Stockport 103 East Park 72
Swindon 89 Leicester 91

Draw for the Quarter Finals are as follows

Exeter or Horspath v Ipswich
Leicester v Poole
Newport v Stockport
Sheffield v Wednesfield

Matches to take place on Sunday 14th July 2013 with a 2pm start