Cycle Speedway: Maximum secures Yorkshire League title for Handke

Home » Cycle speedway

Location: Firth Park, Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire
Event: 15 September 2012
Report: Robert Mawhood/Snowdon Sports

Sheffield’s Radek Handke produced five blistering starts to score a 20-point maximum and dethrone fellow Pole Pawel Idziorek as Yorkshire League individual champion.

The two met in what was the title decider in heat 15 and 26-year-old Handke, who had been given the inside grid against his main rivals in the draw, was again quickly away from the start to lead before cleverly slowing the race on the first corner as Idziorek, who had come out of grid four on his home Heckmondwike track, lost momentum as he tangled with Matt Parrott and Laura Watson.

The ploy bought Handke half a dozen bike lengths, and he needed them as Idziorek made a made a valiant effort to come back. He was almost in a passing position on turn one of the last lap when both riders broadsided on the dry and slippery track, but Handke was quickly back on his pedals and raced away to the title.

Idziorek came back to win his last race from an inside grid over Darren Kent, who had been beaten by Handke in heat 11, and claim the silver medal.

Kent battled well to take third place overall and was a clear winner of the over-40 veteran category. For the second year running Richard Hudson found himself in fourth place and just out of the medals, while Rob Mawhood and John Turney were second and third respectively in the over-40s.

The women’s event also saw a new name on the winners’ roster as Sheffield’s Sandra Tamborska took the title from defending champion Laura Watson.

The two favourites also contested the open event and this played an integral part in the destination of the title. Watson was given an outside grid each time she raced against her rival and Tamborska held off her final effort when they clashed in heat one.

When they met again in heat five, they were both having their fifth race and they had a shock when Ellie Sullivan shot away from grid one and led round the first bend. The British Under-13 champion never put a wheel wrong as she put the pressure on the top two and scored a memorable win – giving her the silver medal for the second year running - as, with both feeling the effects of racing in two events, Tamborska finished ahead of Watson to secure the title with her rival in the bronze medal position.

Adam Watson was the only rider to successfully defend his title as he again won the Under-13 title with a flawless 20-point maximum.

The Under-10 championship went to a title run-off with Hull’s Charlie Wade getting the better of Sheffield’s Sam Turney.

The presentation of trophies for the Yorkshire Summer GP Series also took place with the senior award going to Sheffield’s Kyle Holland.


Open/veterans: Radek Handke (Sheffield) 20, Pawel Idziorek (Heckmondwike) 19, Darren Kent (Heckmondwike) 18, Richard Hudson (Sheffield) 17, Kyle Holland (Sheffield) 15, Zach Smurthwaite (Sheffield) 15, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 13, Rob Mawhood (Sheffield) 12, Matt Parrott (Sheffield) 12, David Cooper (Hull) 11, John Turney (Sheffield) 10, James Unwin (Sheffield) 10, Sandra Tamborska (Sheffield) 8, Laura Watson (Heckmondwike) 8, Charlie Davis (Hull) 6.

Women: Sandra Tamborska (Sheffield) 15, Ellie Sullivan (Sheffield) 14, Laura Watson (Heckmondwike) 13, Katy Unwin (Sheffield) 12, Alice Unwin (Sheffield) 10, Lisa Unwin (Sheffield) 8.

Under-13: Adam Watson (Sheffield) 20, Rob Stockton-Garner (Hull) 19, Ellie Sullivan (Sheffield) 18, Josh Bellis (Hull) 14, Sam Booker (Heckmondwike) 14, Charlie Davis (Hull) 13, Daniel Rushton (Sheffield) 12.

Under-10: Charlie Wade (Hull) 16, Sam Turney (Sheffield) 16, William Naylor (Heckmondwike) 13, Matt Ellis (Sheffield) 10, Harrison Davis (Hull) 9, Jack Brownell (Sheffield) 8, Joe Brownell (Sheffield) 7.

Yorkshire Summer GP Series final standings:

Under-10s: Charlie Wade (Hull) 75, Jack Brownell (Sheffield) 72, Joe Brownell (Sheffield) 61, William Naylor (Heckmondwike) 45, Jack Lister (Hull) 20, Sam Turney (Sheffield) 20, Edward Lister (Hull) 18, Alice Turney (Sheffield) 16, Jack Patterson (Hull) 14.

Intermediates: Rob Stockton-Garner (Hull) 90, Ellie Sullivan (Sheffield) 70, Josh Bellis (Hull) 63, Billie Owen (Sheffield) 55, Daniel Rushton (Sheffield) 41, Jack Parkinson (Heckmondwike) 34, Alice Unwin (Sheffield) 30, Charlie Davis (Hull) 26, Katie Greaves (Hull) 26, Katy Unwin (Sheffield) 22, Niamh Morton (Sheffield) 20, Amber Webster (Sheffield) 20, Linden German (Sheffield) 18, Lisa Unwin (Sheffield) 15, Ed Morton (Sheffield) 14.

Open: Kyle Holland (Sheffield) 86, Richard Hudson (Sheffield) 54, David Cooper (Hull) 49, Rob Mawhood (Sheffield) 48, Darren Kent (Heckmondwike) 45, Jake Wood (Heckmondwike) 41, Matt Parrott (Sheffield) 36, Zach Smurthwaite (Sheffield) 36, David Cooper (Hull) 33, Vicky Brown (Sheffield) 30, Radek Handke (Sheffield) 25, Luke Morton (Sheffield) 23, Liam Webster (Sheffield) 20, Niall Morton (Sheffield) 16, Luke Hardy (Heckmondwike) 14, Louis German (Sheffield) 12, Andy Morris (Heckmondwike) 8, Justin Naylor (Heckmondwike) 8, John Turney (Sheffield) 7.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.