Scottish Schools Cycle Speedway

Scottish Schools Cycle Speedway

Home » Cycle speedway

Location: Jack Cane Sports Centre, Edinburgh
Event: 16 March 2012
Report: Thomas Lee

 The second week of competitive action in the Scottish Schools Cycle Speedway League saw a double-header of matches between Liberton High and Inverkeithing High at the Jack Cane Sports Centre. The Edinburgh side eventually prevailed by the same 69-51 scoreline in both matches, however the eighteen point margin of victory in each match doesn't reflect the closeness of the racing between the sides with the result of match two in doubt until the closing stages.

Match one started with a shared race before Liberton's Lewis Balsillie and John Paul Mason notched the first of five 7-3 race advantages for their side in heat two. A couple of 6-4s and a 7-3 for Connor Garvey and Ted Kanjewe extended Liberton's lead to twelve points after heat six and despite a 7-3 for Inverkeithing's Nathan Barrie and Dean Dawson in heat nine, Liberton went on to take a comfortable win. Connor Garvey led the way for Liberton with a paid maximum while Dean Dawson was Inverkeithing's top scorer with an excellent 15 points from five rides.

If match one was comfortable for Liberton, match two was anything but as Inverkeithing's Nathan Barrie romped to three early wins. Indeed, with the scores tied at 35-all after heat seven, Inverkeithing were threatening to spring something of a surprise. That all changed in heat eight as Mason pinned Barrie out wide allowing his team-mate Balsillie to join him for a 7-3. That appeared to knock the stuffing out of a plucky Inverkeithing side who surrendered three more 7-3's in the closing stages. Youngster Jack Law was a revelation for Liberton in only his second match, while Nathan Barrie put up some great resistance for Inverkeithing.

The final round of matches will take place on Friday 23rd March with the second match of the afternoon between Queen Anne and Liberton now looking likely to be a title decider. Special guest for the afternoon, Scottish Senior Keirin & Team Sprint Champion, Callum Skinner, will be presenting medals to all of the riders who have participated in the league.


Match 1

Liberton 69: Connor Garvey 15, John Paul Mason 14, Jack Law 13, Ted Kanjewe 12, Lewis Balsillie 11, Lauren Mitchell 4.

Inverkeithing 51: Dean Dawson 15, Nathan Barrie 14, Rikki Moody 10, Sean Ramsay 7, John Binnie 5

Match 2

Liberton 69: Jack Law 14, Connor Garvey 14, John Paul Mason 13, Lewis Balsillie 12, Ted Kanjewe 12, Lauren Mitchell 4

Inverkeithing 51: Nathan Barrie 18, Dean Dawson 11, Rikki Moody 10, John Binnie 6, Sean Ramsay 6