Cycle Speedway Weekly Reports

Home » Cycle speedway

Reports and results week ending 18 March 2012

Midland LeagueLocation: Leicester
Event: 17 March 2012

Leicester's first Midland League match of 2012 pitted their two combination teams against each other. The Monarchs had the upper hand thanks to a spirited display by thirteen year old Liam Davies and at the other end of the age range veteran Colin Pole who both rode unbeaten. Lauren Davies was the only race winner for the Lions but Liam Wood was involved in some exciting races and is showing plenty of aggression.


Monarchs 73: Liam Davies 20, Colin Pole 16, Liam Doughty 14+1, Michelle Whitehead 10+2, Jenna Whitehead 7, Elizabeth Rigley 6

Lions 57: Liam Wood 14+1, Lauren Davies 13, Amy Crouch 10, Luke Hartshorn 8+2, Luke Whitehead 6+2, Chloe Whitehead 6+1

South East Divison 1
Ipswich v East London
Location: Whitton
Event: 17 March 2012

Ipswich started their defence of the South East crown against a spirited East London at Whitton, coming out comfortable winners in a one-sided affair on a heavy going track which felt into the home team hands.

The home team started at a cracking pace recording two maximum heats wins in the opening two heats,
this was followed by two level heats, heats five and six going the way of the home team 7-3, 6-4.

Heat seven saw the Londoners record their only heat advantage with Gallley/Gunkel partnership record a 6-4, from there on in it was all Ipswich as they slowly piled the pressure on, the home side were without new signing Ian Grange, Richard Williamson and a late change with Jordan Stant also unable to ride due to an injured arm.

Team manager Tony Stant threw in Lauren Jacobs and young Matty Hill into the action and neither rider letting no one down with the young Hill scoring 12 points from four rides including two race wins.

Team captain for the day Josh Brooke rode well to secure a 20 point haul and was well supported by Pike, Roberts and Chittock but all in all a good all round team performance .

Ipswich 109: Daniel Pike 17, Lewis Roberts 15, Joshua Brooke 20, Leon Mower 12, Jamie Chittock 16, Ashley Hill 13, Matthew Hill 12, Lauren Jacobs 4

East London 68: Les Stevens 10, Dennis Hubble 12, Neil Lester 5, Steve Woodruff 7, Lee Galley 12, Nicky Gunkel 10, Dave Tulloch 8, Alan Busby 4

South -East Divison 2

Ipswich 95: Daniel Knights 19, William Clark 14, Matthew Hill 13, Lauren Jacobs 17, Charlie Rumbold 14, Fraser Harris 12, Terry Gilbert-Rolfe 6

East London 61: Steve Myhill 15, Mark Beasent 7, Kevin Smith 5, Nicky Gunkel 13, Alan Busby 10, Neil Lester 6, Les Stevens 5

Gt. Blakenham v Hethersett
Location: Gt. Blakenham recreation ground
Event: 18 March 2012

Hethersett Hawks got their South East League campaign under way in cold and wet conditions at Great Blakenham. The new look Hawks side, with Lee Grange and Joshua Herring making their debuts and Leigh Cossey and Dan Chambers returning, gave a good opening account but had no answer to the fast-starting and first-bend power of four top Elite League riders in the Blakenham side. Consequently Hethersett riders finished first only twice in the 18 heats but good teamwork allowed them to keep in contention and only lose by 11 points.


Gt.Blakenham 95: L.Cossey 13 D.Chambers 13 L.Grange 12 P.Adams 11 D.Martin 9 J.Herring 9 B.Collins 8 H.Hamill 7 S.Grimes 2

Hethersett 84: Leigh Cossey 13, Dan Chambers 13, Lee Grange 12, Phil Adams 11, Dave Martin 9, Joshua Herring 9, Ben Collins 8, Harley Hamill 7, Scott Grimes 2

In the Division 2 match Hethersett were far too strong with Harley Hamill unbeaten and Scott Grimes wining four of his five races.

Gt Blakenham B 67: Jonjo Slaughter 15, Sam Turland 14, Will Jennings 12, Kaine Grimmer 10, Terry Ashford 8, Sam Broom 5, Vlad Simmonds 3

Hethersett B 92: H.Hamill 18, A.Johnson 18, S.Grimes 17, O.Buxton 14, R.Carter 11, T.Collins 10, M.Perkins 4

The win rounded off a good week for the Club with local accountants Swinton&Co confirming an extension to their sponsorship agreement and former British Junior Champion Nick Myhill renewing his licence after a two-year absence. He should be in action this Sunday when the Hawks entertain champions Ipswich in Division 1 at the Memorial Playing Field (2pm).

Northern Combination
Sheffield Rockets v Sheffield Phantoms
Location: Sheffield Cycle Speedway
Event: 18 March 2012

The all girl Sheffield Phantoms took the league points and with it the bragging rights, with a 79-69 derby victory against the Sheffield CRA Rockets in the first Cycle Speedway team fixture of the 2012 season.

The brainchild of Sheffield Stars Chairman Ian Brown, who wished to provide an environment for girls and women to race Cycle Speedway, the girls were dominant throughout the match providing the race winner in 11 of the 15 races, with three wins each for Vicky Brown (team captain), Ellie Sullivan and Sandra Tamborska (who ended the match unbeaten by an opponent).

The Rockets relied too heavily on Niall Morton, but they were giving league debuts to four riders and led briefly by 25-24 after Amber Webster was disqualified in heat 5. The Phantoms immediately hit back by taking heat 6 with a maximum 7-3 race win from the Ellie Sullivan/Sandra Tamborska pairing.

The League points appeared safe for the Phantoms until the Rockets reduced the arrears to 62-67 with a maximum 7-3 race win in heat 13 from the father and son pairing of John and Sam Turney. However, when the experienced Mick Knowles was disqualified in the last race it left the Phantoms top riders Brown and Tamborska to record another maximum seven points and a comfortable victory. With the return fixture not due until October the girls will be basking in this victory for the whole summer.


SHEFFIELD CRA ROCKETS (69) – Niall Morton 17+1, Ed Morton 11, John Turney 10+1, Caine Moore 9, Sam Turney 9+2, Mick Knowles 6, Daniel Rushton 6+2, Sam Bowles 1.

SHEFFIELD PHANTOMS (79) – Vicky Brown 18, Sandra Tamborska 18+2, Ellie Sullivan 16, Billie Owen 9, Katy Unwin 7, Amber Webster 7+1, Niamh Morton 2, Alice Turney 1, Alice Unwin 1.

The day also included Round 2 of the Hallamshire Go Ride League, which gave the newly re-laid track surface a severe test with nearly 70 races in the day. The track surface was that good that former European number three Radek Handke was able to lower his own track record to 39.16 seconds on his way to taking the Open Final. Vicky Brown (Girls), Ellie Sullivan (Under 12), Sam Turney (Under 10) all repeated their wins from Round 1. While Niall Morton (Under 14) and Sam Bowles (Under 8) took their respective events having finished as runners up in Round 1.


OPEN – 1ST Radek Handke, 2nd Pawel Idziorek, 3rd Aiden Owen, 4th Liam Webster.

GIRLS – 1st Vicky Brown, 2nd, Sandra Tamborska, 3rd Amber Webster, 4th Katy Unwin.

UNDER 14 – 1st Niall Morton, 2nd Linden German, 3rd Caine Moore

UNDER 12 – 1st Ellie Sullivan, 2nd Ed Morton, 3rd Billie Owen, 4th Jack Kettlewell

UNDER 10 – 1st Sam Turney, 2nd Ed Willis, 3rd Sam Bowles, 4th Alice Turney

UNDER 8 – 1st Ted Bowles, 2nd Jack Brownell, 3rd Joe Brownell.

This coming weekend will see the girls defend their winning start to the season with a visit over the Pennines to Lancashire outfit Astley and Tyldesley with the Northern League first team kick-starting their season with a visit to West Yorkshire neighbours Heckmondwike.