Cycle Speedway Weekly Reports

Home » Cycle speedway
Bookmark    and Share 
Follow on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Cycle Speedway Weekly Reports

Reports and results week ending 10th June 2011

Hethersett Hawks v East London
Event 10th July 2011
South-East League Division 1

Hethersett Hawks/Swinton & Co recorded their second South-East League Division 1 win of the season with a thrilling last ditch victory over East London at the Memorial Playing Field.

Hethersett started well with an early 7-3 victory by Oliver Buxton and Dave Martin. The Londoners clawed the deficit back two heats later and then went ahead. A good ride by Axl Johnson in the race before the interval brought the scores level. The teams were still level with three heats remaining and Phil Adams completed his fourth victory in heat 16. A forceful ride by Ben Collins in the penultimate heat gave the opportunity for Buxton to get through and win and it looked like a 7-3 was certain until the last corner.

A superb late pass saw East London retain hope trailing by two going into the last race. It fell on the experienced shoulders of skipper Martin to speed away from the tapes to win the race and the match for Hethersett.


Hethersett 90: P.Adams 19, D.Martin 17, B.Collins 12, S.Grimes 12, O.Buxton 12, A.Johnson 7, Calvin Grimes 6, T.Collins 5.

East London 88

Division 2

In the Division 2 match East London B conceded 30 penalty points for using restricted riders. However their experienced team was able to claw that back by heat 11 against a relatively inexperienced Hawks' team. Oliver Buxton was the best Hawk and was involved in five drawn heats through his teamwork.

Hethersett B (50+30) 89: O.Buxton 15, Carly Grimes 10, A.Johnson 10, T.Collins 9, R.Wilshire 6, Calvin Grimes 5, E.Betts 4.

East London B 101

In the Norfolk Grand Prix match at Hethersett there were wins for Tyler Matthews (U10) Scott Grimes (U16) and David Martin (Senior). Jasmin Matthews (U13) Oliver Buxton (U16) Phil Adams (Senior) and Carly Grimes (Girls) all reached A Finals.

Manchester League Grand Prix Series - Round 4
30th June 2011

Astley & Tyldesley hosted Round 4 of the Manchester League Grand Prix series at Gin Pit. Stockport maintained their winning ways in both the Division 1 (senior) and Division 2 (junior) matches, but this time were pushed hard by A & T in the junior match.

Stockport's Kieren Smith top scored with 15 in the U-10 match, losing once to A & T's Adam Turnbull. A & T's Adam Phillips maintained his winning ways, scoring 16 in the U-13 category. Jake Read of Stockport rode unbeaten in the U-16 event, as did team mate Ben Higham in the U-19 category. A competitive senior match saw Stockport's Terry Norman top score with 14 points, losing only to Bury duo Paul Dyson and Steve Ward in heat 5.

Manchester League Division 1 match result (top 5 scorers only count from each team)

Stockport 61 Bury 22 Astley & Tyldesley 20.

Seniors: Terry Norman (Stockport) 14, Ben Higham (Stockport) 13, Jake Read (Stockport) 13, Steve Ward (Bury) 13, Jack Lush (Stockport) 12, Adam Phillips (A & T) 12, Mat Lush (Stockport) 9, Paul Dyson (Bury) 9, Luke Jamson (A & T) 8, Joe Pickford (Stockport) 7, Derek Garnett (Stockport) 5, James Carter (Stockport) 4.

Referee - Bill Phillips (Astley & Tyldesley).

Manchester League Division 2 match result (top 5 scorers only count from each team)

Stockport 75 Astley & Tyldesley 64 Bury 29.

U-10s: Kieren Smith (Stockport) 15, Thomas Whitwam (A & T) 13, Adam Turnbull (A & T) 12, Millie Turner (Stockport) 12, Max Evans (A & T) 11, Daniel Burns (A & T) 7, Matthew Snell (A & T) 6.

U-13s: Adam Phillips (A & T) 16, Matt Turner (Stockport) 14, Reece Pollitt (A & T) 12, Adam Watson (Bury) 11, Callum Smith (Stockport) 10, Stefan Whitelegg (A & T) 6.

U-16s: Jake Read (Stockport) 16, Jack Lush (Stockport) 14, Mat Lush (Stockport) 12, Joe Pickford (Stockport) 11, James Carter (Stockport) 9, Ryan Livesesy (Bury) 8, Georgina Healey (Stockport) 6, Ellis Halford (A & T) 4.

U-19s: Ben Higham (Stockport) 16, Laura Watson (Bury) 10, Luke Jamson (A & T) 6.

Referee - Bill Phillips (Astley & Tyldesley).