Cycle Speedway Elite League round up - 11 August 2013

Home » Cycle speedway

Location: Ipswich Cycle Speedway, Whitton Church Lane, Ipswich
Event: 11 August 2013

The mid table clash at Ipswich looked from the start to be a very even affair, and so it turned out.

The first heat was shared the second went to the away team with a 7-3 to Aris & Griffith another 5-5 then Ipswich hit back with a 7-3 to Roberts & Mower. The rest of the half were mostly even apart from heat six 5-4 to Wednesfield after Chris Osborne was excluded for taking an opponent to wide and 6-3 to the away team when Rumbold failed to finish after a clash with Jewks half time score 46-42 in favour of the away team.

The second half opened with three shared heats heat thirteen went to the away team 6-3 after Mower was excluded for crossing the white line fourteen was another 5-5 when it sixteen Ipswich hit back with a 6-4 of their own the match finished with three shared heats.

The home team will look back at the two silly mistakes that ended in exclusions and the injury to Lewis Osborne’s ankle which meant he only took part in one heat, had he been able to complete his other rides the score would have been very different.   


Ipswich 86: Lewis Roberts 16, Adam Peck 16, Leon Mower 12. Chris Osborne 9,Jamie Chittok 8, Charlie Rumbold 8, Matt Hill 8, Dan Knights 6, Lewis Osborne 1.

Wednesfield 91: Paul Heard 18, Lee Aris 16, Mark Griffith 16, Rikki Johnson 15, Chris Jewks 9, Matt Haddock 9, Harry Everis 4, Hayden Rowley 4, Tom Berwick & Connor Dyke D.N.R.

Referee - M Legg Dorset

Birmingham v Poole | Elite League
Location: Birmingham Cycle Speedway, Perry Avenue, Birmingham
11 August 2013

Birmingham showed their spirit as they came close but just missed out as Poole carried on the charge to the Elite League title.

The Monarchs had Nathan Groves missing due to holiday whilst Mark Winwood put himself into the Combination side after injuring himself whilst on holiday. Poole came without some of their top Polish riders but the nine man side still had Steve Harris, Tom Reed as well as Leyton Glover and Phil Howells.

From heat one Poole took a narrow 6-4 advantage and never lost the lead from there. Heat two saw Monarchs captain Chris Timms take the flag ahead of Reed and Morgan after David Ball battled hard at the back to split the Poole riders. Heat four saw Chris Parish take the win after coming back from injury. Poole packed in for second and third as Paul Timms never gave up as he tried to pass Harris.

Heats five and six saw Poole claim maximum 7-3s to stretch their lead to 36-24 but then Glover was judged to move at the start line and was disqualified from heat seven. Alec Szymanski claimed the win in the re-run but with Myke Grimes and Parish finishing behind the Pole Birmingham took a slight advantage. Just before the interval more luck went Birmingham’s way as from the start Phil Howells pedal broke and whilst Aaron Morgan won the heat Paul Timms and Joe Kemp got the minor places to make it 56-42 at the break to Poole.

After the break Poole hit the ground running with a 7-3 from Howells and Reed. Heat eleven Chris Timms slipped as Glover went to take victory but it was action at the back as Timms dived up the inside of Szymanski and made it a 5-5 heat. Heat twelve saw Birmingham take a advantage as Myke Grimes and Chris Parish claimed a 6-4 as Tom Reed slipped off whilst in second place.

Heat fifteen saw controversy as Chris Timms was excluded as the England rider was judged to caught his leg on an opponent. In the re-run Poole easily made a 7-2 to put them 84-63 ahead. Heat sixteen then saw Tom Reed excluded for the same reason. Anger spilt into the pits as referee Mick Knowles had to calm the tensions between the two sides. In the last heat Glover was excluded for going beyond the track limits but the 6-3 did little to stop Poole taking the points back home to Dorset.


Birmingham Monarchs 77: Parish 10+2, Grimes 15, C.Timms 11+1, Ball 10+2, J.Kemp 6+3, Pietek 13, P.Timms 7, Riley 5+2

Poole Comets 98: Harris 13+1, Gulowski 14+2, Morgan 17+1, Reed 10+2, Glover 7, Szymanski 15+2, Smith 10, Howells 12, Bristow DNR

Horspath v Sheffield | Elite League
Location: Horspath Cycle Speedway Horspath, Oxford
Event: 11 August 2013

When Sheffield's Polish stars Pawel Idziorek and Radek Handke shot out the gate for an opening heat 7-3 a close encounter was envisaged, despite the Stars being short of a rider or two.

However a 6-4 and two 7-3's later Hammers were on a charge, a no holds barred heat 3 saw the British Champion Andy Angell hit the deck in a tussle with former champ Mark Boaler, whilst an impressive Zac Payne took heat 4. Sheffield had the "Star" of the match in Pawel Idziorek, his clashes with Lukasz Nowacki and Mark Boaler a highlight with the young Sheffield rider eventually taking the match race trophy from the current world champion Nowacki.

His main backing came from Jamie Ball and Radek Hanke, both deserved more in terms of points tally, Andy Angell first match in a few weeks on a track not suited to him really, looked race rusty, whilst both Ryan Hoyland and Dan Chambers battled hard against a home side now in full flow, Matti Szymczak after a first bend fall first race race showed that after a late start to the season things are now getting back to place with Zac Payne again in good form.

Only six points separated the teams after seven heats but a run of four 6-4's either side of the half gradually had the Hammers building to an unexpected 100 total.


Horspath  100: Mark Boaler 16+1, Lukasz Nowacki 15+1, Lewis Bates 15, Matti Szymczak 13+3, Jack Harrold 12+1, Mark Carmichael 12, Zac Payne 9, Errol Thaw 8.

Sheffield 79: Pawel Idziorek 17, Radek Handke 12+2, Jamie Ball 11, Andy Angell 11, Dan Chambers 11, Ryan Hoyland 10, Michelle Whitehead 4, Kyle Holland 3.