Plas Y Brenin hosts women-only Level 2 Mountain Bike Leadership Award

Plas Y Brenin hosts women-only Level 2 Mountain Bike Leadership Award

Home » Education & Courses » Coaching

Plas Y Brenin, the National Mountain Centre in Wales, is hosting a women-only Level 2 Mountain Bike Leadership Award this autumn. Taking place on the 2 and 3 November 2013, the mountains, hills and rugged terrain of North Wales provide a stunning backdrop to the British Cycling course.

As an entry point, the Level 2 Mountain Bike Leadership Award is ideal for anyone with experience in mountain biking, who is either working or looking to work in the outdoor sector, or simply has a personal interest in gaining all the information needed to safely guide riders in mountainous terrain and provide them with a great day out.

The Level 2 Award provides expert advice to enable riders to be confident as leaders in a variety of terrain, while allowing the freedom to tailor rides to suit the leader and the group’s needs.

The award covers all the necessary skills to ensure leaders have the assurance and ability to lead others in unfamiliar surroundings including the following main areas:

- planning and delivery of rides that are appropriate for the leader’s group
- leading techniques for effective group management
- map reading and navigation for a flowing journey
- management of accidents and emergency situations
- equipment set-up and trailside repairs
- core mountain bike techniques

The majority of the training is practical and takes place out on the trail in one of the best mountain bike areas in the UK.

Leading rides is about sharing your passion for mountain biking with others, so if you are an active mountain biker, keen to lead others over exciting and unpredictable terrain, then the Level 2 Award is the perfect starting point of your mountain bike leadership journey.

To book on to the women-only Level 2 Mountain Bike Leadership Award at Plas Y Brenin, please click here

To find out more about British Cycling’s Mountain Bike Leadership Awards, please visit