Brayton and Seagrave star in HSBC UK | National Downhill Series

Brayton and Seagrave star in HSBC UK | National Downhill Series

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB) » British MTB Series » Downhill Series

Adam Brayton and Tahnee Seagrave took victory in round five of the HSBC UK | National Downhill Series, in Llangollen.

Unpredictable weather throughout the weekend made riding difficult, and in the men's event the seeding runs placed the top five riders within 1.5s of each other – guaranteeing a close race.

Brilliant Brayton holds on

And only Brayton held his nerve as he won by two seconds.

Alex Bond impressed in the to finish second, while Charlie Hatton had to be content with third.

Emyr Davies looked absolutely rapid all weekend, but unfortunately had a huge crash on his race run put him out of a possible challenge to the podium.

Seagrave comfortable in the wet

In the elite women’s race Seagrave was a class above the competition, smashing to pole position in both her seeding run and her race run to take the top spot with a 25-second margin.

“My run was really consistent,” she said.

“I stuck to the same lines which I used for qualifying and it came off.”

The real race was played out behind with just hundredths of a second separating Veronique Sandler, Becci Skelton and Aston Tutt.

Sandler took second, while Skelton narrowly squeezed Tutt into fourth as she stole third.

Atkinson battles on

In the junior men's event Matt Walker kept control of the series by taking the win by the slimmest of margins from Joe Breedon and Kade Edwards.

While in the junior women Maya Atkinson continues to rise through the ranks and took a comfortable win, despite intense competition from Rosy Monaghan, with Ellen Flewitt taking third.


Elite men

1st - Adam Brayton

2nd - Alex Bond

3rd - Charlie Hatton

4th - Marc Beaumont

5th - James Purvis

Elite Women

1st - Tahnee Seagrave

2nd - Veronique Sandler

3rd - Becci Skelton

4th - Aston Tutt

5th - Deborah Primrose

Junior Men

1st - Matt Walker

2nd - Joe Breeden

3rd - Kade Edwards

4th - Henry Kerr

5th - Conor Bate

Junior Women

1st - Maya Atkinson

2nd -Rosy Monghan

3rd - Ellen Flewitt

4th - Meghan Harris

5th - Sumayiah Green


2017 HSBC UK | National DH Series | R4 Llangollen