East Anglian BMX Championships finshes in Milton Keynes

East Anglian BMX Championships finshes in Milton Keynes

Home » BMX

Location: Milton Keynes BMX Track, Milton Keynes
Event: 23 October 2011

The final race of the East Anglian BMX summer calendar took place in Milton Keynes with riders having a last chance to grab some silverware before the winter series commences.

In the cruiser classes the 9-12s was won by Shane Redgewell from Braintree with Devon Trewin making the trip from Cornwall to do the business in the 13-15s.The super fast 16-29 year olds class saw some great battles and the win went to mountain bike expert Dan Bateson in front of Braintree Bullets riders Chris Potter and Olly Cutmore in second and third. Moving up to the 30-39 class and Darren Obrien from Birmingham left the rest for dead in a fine display and Norwich’s Adrian Warden showed many of the younger riders a thing or two with a great win in the 40+.

Onto the girls and Ipswich’s Abi Pike took a commanding win in the 7 and unders just in front of British Champion Ella Foster from Peterborough Phantoms. Morgan Dorrell from Norwich took the 8-9 year olds’ title in from of the Peterborough pair of Mollie Foster and Drew Raven. It was out of region riders who took the spoils in the 10-11s and Libby Smith from Redditch made the journey worthwhile by taking the EA Champ title back to the Midlands. Peterborough’s Katie Plumb was the victor in the 12-13s and Milton Keynes’ Izzy Ferrada matched the accolade in the 14-15s. The ladies 25+ Cruiser class went to the world number four from Norwich, Abi Hill.

In the expert classes and starting off with the 6 and unders which saw Daniel Horan lead out the pocket rockets from Ipswich’s Hayden Gladwell.

The seven year olds class was won in fine style by Royston Rockets’ Elliott Bowyer who led out Derby’s Benjamin Perry and Hayes Hawks ‘fastest female’ Emily Hutt.

Andover’s Morgan Whiteley swelled the ranks in the eights and made the others do all the work behind him all day in an unbeaten run. Local rider Jack Leahy was the best of the rest in second and Charlie Foster rounded off the podium in thirdfor Peterborough.

The nine year olds had a number of out of region national riders in the class which made for some super competitive racing. National number three Matt Hutt was unbeaten all day to take the title back to Hayes. Braintree’s Tom Stokes wasn’t put off by the competition and found himself right at the sharp end in second place and Dagenham’s Joe Read-Millard finished third. Sydney Allen from Braintree had been battling for a podium spot in the early stages of the final but an off track excursion saw him relegated to eighth.