World Masters Track Cycling Championships begin in Manchester

World Masters Track Cycling Championships begin in Manchester


The first day of competition in the 2012 UCI World Masters Track Cycling Championships commenced at the Manchester Velodrome on Sunday with nine titles being awarded in the time trial discipline for men. There were also new world bests set in two of the age groups.

Great Britain and Australia shared the majority of the honours with British riders winning four titles and the Australians three while the USA and France won the other two remaining categories on a very successful opening day of racing with 400 entries from 27 countries making it one of the most popular competitions ever held.

Men 35-39 time trial 

In a truly international competition, Great Britain’s Ben Elliott was fastest in the kilometre for men aged between 35-39 when he recorded a time of 1.06.338 to beat his nearest rival Mark Jewell from Australia by over a second.

Third was Terry Mackin of Ireland with 1.08.118 with 11 riders taking to the start including riders from Britain, Ireland, Australia, South Africa, Holland, Switzerland and France.

1.            Benedict Elliott (GBR)                     1.06.338

2.            Mark Jewell (AUS)                           1.07.866

3.            Terry Mackin (IRL)                           1.08.118

Men 40-44 time trial 

Thirty riders from ten countries competed for the rainbow jersey with Australian Gavin White quickest over three laps of the track to win yet another masters title. He beat Britain’s Neil Potter by fourth tenths of a second in the 750 metre time trial. Allen Vugrincic from the USA in third.

1.            Gavin White (AUS)                          49.870

2.            Neil Potter (GBR)                             50.282

3.            Allen Vugrincic (USA)                     50.564

Men 45-49 time trial 

There was another title for the Australian camp when Chris Murray set a new world best for the age category in the time trial over 750 metres. The Aussie beat Denmark’s Bernhard Franspotter and Britain’s Phil Houlton in the three lap event contested by seventeen riders.

1.            Chris Murray (AUS)                         48.645 (unofficial new world best time for the age group)

2.            Bernhard Franspotter (DEN)       50.074

3.            Phil Houlton (GBR)                          50.473

Men 50-54 time trial 

The sound of the Australian anthem sounded out again for this age category when Aussie Geoff Stoker pipped British rider Adrian Dent to the title over 500 metres. Stoker was the only rider to get under 35 seconds less than a tenth ahead of Dent. Todd Hayes of the USA was third a few tenths of shy of Dent’s time.

1.            Geoff Stoker (AUS)                         34.905

2.            Adrian Dent (GBR)                           35.098

3.            Todd Hayes (USA)                           35.339

Men 55-59 time trial 

One of the world’s most prolific winners of Masters titles, Dave Le Grys of Britain was half a second quicker than his rivals to win this title in a time only a few hundredths shy of the current world’s best. Le Grys beat fellow Brit Steve Cronshaw and James Thiele of the USA.

1.            David Le Grys (GBR)                        35.074

2.            Steve Cronshaw (GBR)  35.505

3.            James Thiele (USA)                         36.022

Men 60-64 time trial 

After the dominance by Britain and Australia in so many of the other categories, it was a Frenchman, Marc Dangleterre who took this title with a 37 second ride over two laps of the track.

Dangleterre beat Keith MacBeth from the USA and Angelo Onofri from Italy. Best Brit was the North East’s Steve Davies who explained afterwards he was very pleased in his ‘weak’ event to be so close to the riders above him. The event saw 24 riders race for the medals.

1.            Marc Dangleterre (FRA)                37.051

2.            Keith Macbeth (USA)                     37.368

3.            Angelo Onofri (ITA)                         37.421

Men 65-69 time trial 

The ever popular Geoff Cooke, former coach to Great Britain , won this title over 500 metres by a second from fellow Brit David Rowe. Third was Graziano Pantosti.

1.            Geoff Cooke (GBR)                         37.475

2.            David Rowe (GBR)                           38.458

3.            Graziano Pantosti (ITA) 38.969

Men 70-74 time trial 

There was another new world’s best in this age category when Leo Menestrina of the USA raced around the 250 metre track twice in a time of 38.574 to win gold. He beat Trinidadian Earl Henry and Peter Smith of Britain. 

1.            Leo Menestrina (USA)                   38.574 (unofficial new world best time for the age group)

2.            Earl Henry (TRI)                 40.018

3.            Peter Smith (GBR)                           40.095

Men 75+ time trial 

In the final race of the evening, Walter Fowler of Britain clinched the title with a two second plus beating of fellow Brit Derek Thurrell. Roy Savery was third in the category which was contested by all British riders.

 1.           Walter Fowler (GBR)                      42.402

2.            Derek Thurrell (GBR)                      44.884

3.            Roy Savery (GBR)                             45.962


Tickets are now available at the door during the championships. Ticket prices are very modest with all day prices at £8 and £5 for concessions during the week and £10 and £5 for concessions for the final two days. All ticket holders will also receive a free souvenir programme together with a daily update sheet containing full details of the programme for each day.

Further Information