Track: Duggleby sweeps the board at Scunthorpe

Track: Duggleby sweeps the board at Scunthorpe


Location: Quibell Park Scunthorpe
Event: 1 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Silver medallist in last month’s national derny championship, Adam Duggleby (Champion System/Maxgear/Kyklos) was in unstoppable form on the Quibell Park track with a maximum return of four wins from four events.

The 27-year-old, from Pudsey, Leeds, won the Yorkshire region sprint title and dominated the programme of combined events, including the East Midlands and North East, with a margin of 19 seconds over his nearest challenger, Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wheelers) in the 4,000 metres pursuit as well as taking both the scratch and points races.

Junior Simon Beedham (Lincsquad), 17, was crowned East Midlands sprint champion on his home town track, and the North East title went to veteran Paul Gittins (Ferryhill Wheelers).

Wakefield 15-year-old Lauren O’Brien (RST RT) outgunned her older rivals to come out on top in the women’s omnium ahead of Jodie Brumhead (Cottingham Coureurs).


East Midlands Sprint Championship:
1 Simon Beedham (Lincsquad)
2 Callum Rogers (Scunthorpe Poly CC)
3 Martin Smith (Chesterfield Coureurs)
Yorkshire Sprint Championship:
1 Adam Duggleby (Champion System/Maxgear)
2 David Brearley (Cottingham Coureurs)
3 Richard Baldwin (Dinnington RC)
North East Sprint Championship:
1 Paul Gittins (Ferryhill Wheelers)
2 Joe Davison (Ashburn)
3 Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wheelers).
4,000m pursuit:
1 Adam Duggleby 4-47.37
2 Steve Davies 5-06.00
3 Callum Rogers 5-11.90
4 David Brearley 5-17.28
5 Richard Baldwin 5-18.45
6 Martin Smith 5-21.47
8km scratch race:
1 Adam Duggleby
2 David Brearley
3 Callum Rogers
4 Martin Smith
5 Ralph Lilley (Ferryhill Wheelers)
6 Richard Baldwin
10km points race:
1 Adam Duggleby
2 Martin Smith
3 Callum Rogers
4 David Brearley
5 Ralph Lilley
6 Torin Cannings (Lincsquad)
Women’s omnium:
1 Lauren O’Brien (RST RT)
2 Jodie Brumhead (Cottingham Coureurs)
3 Christine Higgs (Macclesfield Wheelers)
Youth A boys omnium:
1 Leon Gledhill (BBM Revolution)
2 Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland)
3 Joey Walker (RST RT)
4 Struan McInnes (RST RT)
5 Karl Baillie (Witham Wheelers)
Youth B boys/girls omnium:
1 Harry White (Dinnington RC)
2 Max Williamson (Lincsquad)
3 Jake Beach (Aire Valley RT)
Youth C boys/girls omnium:
1 Jack Ford (Wakefield Trei)
2 Euan Cameron (East Bradford CC)
3 Max Poole (Lincsquad)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.