Lambton on form at Brooks Cycles Track League

Lambton on form at Brooks Cycles Track League


Location:  Lyme Valley Stadium, Clayton, Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Event: 16 August 2012


With the holiday season well under way there was a good turnout of riders at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome. The clouds gathered towards the end of the nights racing with light rain falling however with the warm conditions it did not stop the racing.

The sprinters league races were closely contested with a blanket finish in the Neil Potter 500m Handicap with long marker Sophie Capewell (Lichfield CCC) holding on to take the win from Phil Houlton (Brooks Cycles) and Louis Preston (Goldtec). The Keirin League event saw leader Sean Mayer (Swinnerton Cycles) take the front with 400m to go and then move away from the other riders with 200m to go to win from Phil Houlton and Matthew Haynes (City of Edinburgh RC).

In the A Class Endurance League Ryan Whatmough was absent after injuring his hand in a bike accident. Last year's overall leader Robert Lambton (Brooks Cycles) top scored in winning the opening eight lap scratch and the devil. Will Thomas (Velocity RT) took the course de primes with some fine attacking racing with Adrian Adgar (Balanced Performance) winning a thrilling 10 mile scratch as he passed Andy Leigh in the last 50m.

The B Class events had a good turnout again with last years overall winning Alex Webb (Lyme RC) finding good form again as he won the 10 mile scratch, the devil and was a member of the winning team sprint team. The other B Class event, the eight lap scratch, was won by George Edwards (Lyme RC).    

The youth events saw a low turnout due to the holiday season however the quality of the racing was still high. Liam Zwetschnikow (Lyme RC) won the six lap scratch and with James Duncalf (Lyme RC) won the double harness pursuit. James took the opening 2 1/2 lap block handicap and Joe Swinnerton (Lyme RC ) and Bradley Hill (Lyme RC) won the team sprint.

In the Freewheelers League 28 riders competed with five new riders taking the registered number to 71 for the season.